2018-2019 Summary of Activity

The Faculty Council meets monthly September through May, and as needed.  The minutes of Faculty Council meetings are posted, upon approval by the Faculty Council.

Faculty Assembly convenes twice a year.  The Fall Assembly was held on November 6, 2018.  The Spring Assembly was held on  March 20, 2019.   The meetings are recorded and archived on the website.

Faculty Council Officers 2018-2019

Cataldo Leone
Professor, Department of Periodontology
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
Goldman School of Dental Medicine

J. Robb Dixon
Past Chair
Associate Professor of Operations and Technology Management
Questrom School of Business

Eileen B. O’Keefe
Clinical Professor

Department of Health Sciences
College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences: Sargent College


Discussions and Outcomes 2018-2019

On May 7, 2019, Faculty Council Chair Leone announced the outcome of the Officers Election.  Eileen O’Keefe was elected Vice Chair.  Gisela Hoecherl-Alden was elected Secretary-treasurer.  Dr. O’Keefe will assume the role of Faculty Council Chair on June 1, 2020.  The Nominating Committee presented the slate of Committee Chairs and the Faculty Council nominated them unanimously.  President Robert A. Brown joined the meeting to discuss Task Force to Evaluate Data Sciences Report.  Assistant Provost for Academic Assessment Gillian Pierce joined the meeting to discuss the Task Force to Evaluate Teaching Report with Dr. Rebecca Kinraide, Chair of the Faculty Council Teaching Resources Committee and member of the Task Force.

On April 2, 2019, the Chair Leone reported that the proposed changes to the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly/Faculty Council are still under review with the Credentials and By-laws Committee.  Gisela Hoecherl-Alden, Chair of the Awards Committee, presented the candidates for the 2019 John S. Perkins Award for Distinguished Service.  The Faculty Council voted unanimously to accept the Committee’s recommendations.  Assistant Provost for Academic Assessment Gillian Pierce and Senior Assistant Provost Suzanne Kennedy joined the meeting to discuss the upcoming NECHE accreditation site visit. Faculty Council members were asked to reserve October 27-30, 2019 for a meeting with the accreditation team.  University Provost Jean Morrison and Associate Provost Elizabeth Loizeaux joined the meeting to discuss the governance structure of the BU Hub. Council members also discussed issues of academic freedom and free speech and the Task Force on Free Speech with Provost Morrison.

On March 5, 2019, the Council convened on the MED campus and heard reports from the School of Medicine, School of Public Health, Graduate Medical Sciences, and the Goldman School for Dental Medicine.  Chair Leone reported on his recent meeting with President Brown.  He announced that Assistant Provost of Gillian Pierce will attend the May 7 meeting to discuss the report of the Task Force for Evaluating Teaching.  Chair Leone asked Council members to study the report and send feedback via the portal on the Task Force’s website by the end of April.  He also reported that DivertBU has petitioned the Board of Trustees for the University to divest from fossil fuel investments.  The Advisory Committee for Socially Responsible Investing will review this petition. The Faculty Council Officers serve on the Advisory Committee as the faculty representatives.

On February 5, 2019, the Chair Leone reported that he has been invited to serve on the Free Speech Operations Committee, as part of the President Brown’s free speech initiative.  University Provost Jean Morrison met with the Council and discussed governance of the BU Hub and the transfer credit policy; plans for Kenmore Square; the Wheelock merger, the project to upgrade the Student Information System; faculty hiring practices; and the Task Force for Evaluating Teaching and the Strategic Planning Task Force.

On January 15, 2019, Chair Leone updated the Council about his recent meeting with President Brown.  The President the Provost intend to launch a free speech initiative this year.  Details to follow.  The Council heard reports from the UC Faculty Policies Committee, the Sustainability Committee, and the Nominating Committee.  Director Khosla provided an update about a question raised at a previous meeting about the University’s shelter-in-place plan.  Dr. Steve Brady, Chair of the Credentials and By-laws Committee, presented the first reading of proposed changes to the Constitution of the Faculty Assembly/Faculty Council. Dr. Brady invited the Council’s input and said the second reading will be in March, to allow time for the Committee to revise the proposal as needed.

On December 4, 2018, the Council met with Associate Provost for Research Gloria Waters to discuss topics focused on research initiatives and administration.  Council members sent detailed questions in advance.  Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs Elizabeth Loizeaux joined the meeting to respond to Council members’ concerns about the transfer credit policy for the BU Hub.

On November 11, 2018, the Council held a special session with Dr. Roscoe Giles and Dr. Kimberly McCall to provide input for the University’s Strategic Plan, under development.

On November 1, 2018, the Council convened on the MED campus for the annual meeting with Senior Vice President of Operations Gary Nicksa, Chief of Human Resources Diane Tucker, Executive Director of Benefits Nimet Gundogan, and representatives from Blue Cross Blue Shield to discuss health care usage for University employees.

On October 2, 2018, Chair Leone announced the outcome of the CAS Dean Search Advisory Committee election.  The Council elected Dr. Swathi Kiran (Sargent) and Dr. Matthew Parfitt (CGS) to serve on the Committee.  President Robert Brown met with the Council.  He updated the Council about the Wheelock merger, the FY2018 budget and the plans for the Data Sciences Center, among other topics.  Council members sent questions in advance.  There were discussions about the Task Force for Strategic Planning, the development plans for Kenmore Square, an update about funding for Pell Grant eligible students, space issues on the MED campus, etc.

On September 18, 2018, Chair Leone welcomed the new members of Faculty Council and outlined the governance structure of the University.  He updated the Council about carryover items from the previous session (proposed changes to retirement benefits and tuition remission issues).  The President and Provost have charged the Faculty Council to recommend a process for selecting the University Marshal.  A Council member raised concerns about BU Hub credits for transfer students.  Chair Leone has invited the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs Elizabeth Loizeaux to the October 9 Executive Committee meeting.  All Council members will be invited to join the discussion.  Secretary-treasurer Eileen O’Keefe reported that the University Council Faculty Policies Committee will make recommendations for review and promotion for non tenure-track faculty this academic year.