# Minutes of the Meeting November 7, 2017

The third regular meeting of the Boston University Faculty Council for the 2017-2018 Session was held on November 7, 2017 at 3:30 p.m. in Room 404, 595 Commonwealth Avenue, Rafik B. Hariri Building. J. Robb Dixon, Chair of the Faculty Council, presided over the meeting.

Officers and Committee Chairs											
Х	Dixon, J. Robb	Chair	hair			Х	Heineke, Ja	eineke, Janelle		Faculty Policies	QST
Χ	Leone, Cataldo	Chair-Elect	GSDM	Park, Hee-\		oung/		Graduate Programs	MED		
	O'Keefe, Eileen	Secretary-Ti	SAR	Χ	Carroll, Joh	ın		Media/Communication	COM		
Χ	Hamilton, James	Academic Fi	MED		Henderson	, Andy		Research	MED		
Χ	Darr, Kathe	Awards	STH		Walsh, Joy	ce		Student Policies	COM		
Χ	Smith, Don	Compensation and Benefits			QST	Χ	Luebke, Jer			Sustainability	CAS
Χ	Brady, Steve	Credentials and By-laws			LAW	Χ	Kinraide, R	ebecca		Teaching Resources	CAS
Χ	Cozier, Yvette	tte Equity and Inclusion			SPH	Χ	O'Brien Hallstein, D. Lynn			Undergraduate Programs	CGS
Representatives and Alternates											
	Abbott, Jodi (R)	obott, Jodi (R) MED			ox, Matthew (A)			SPH		Neville, Robert (A)	STH
	Andres, Andy (R)	CGS	G	Garik, Peter (A)			SED		Nouh, Hesham (A)	GSDM	
	Asikis, Charilaos (A)	GSDM	G	Gopalan, Srikanth (A)			ENG		Oberhaus, Stephanie (R)	MED	
	Berry, Susan (A)				Greenfeld, Liah (R)			CAS		Palumbo, Carole (R)	MED
	Bourgault, Rebecca	ourgault, Rebecca (A)			Greiman, Virginia (A)			MET	Χ	Pasto, James (R)	CAS
Χ	Brandwine, Joel (R)	CFA	х н	Hoecherl-Alden, Gisela (R)			CAS		Perls, Thomas (R)	MED	
Χ	Chang, Charles (R)		CAS	Н	Hopper, Clay (A)			CFA	Χ	Pesanelli, Kelly (A)	SAR
	Clarke, Bobbi (R)	arke, Bobbi (R) QST Ho			Horenstein, Mark (R)			ENG	Χ	Quatromoni, Paula	SED
	Corrigan, Yuri (R)		CAS	Ja	Jafarzadeh, S. Reza (R)			MED		Reed, Marnie (R)	SED
Χ	Cronin, Shea (R)		MET	K	Kealy, Sean (R)			LAW	Χ	Roberts, Steven (R)	GSDM
	Daly, Chris (R)	COM	K	Kinraide, Rebecca (R)			CAS		Schulman, Bruce (R)	CAS	
Χ	Daniels, Sharon (R)		CFA	K	Kirby Jones, Alison (R)			QST		Sen, Kamal (R)	ENG
	Dano, David (A)	GSDM	K	Klinger, Julie (R)			Pardee		Smith, Donald (R)	QST	
	Dashoush, Nermee	SED	Le	Leavitt, Neal (R)			CGS		Sohn, Woosung (R)	GSDM	
	Davies-Heerema, T	MED	X Li	u, Ching-T	)	SPH	Χ	Sullivan-Soydan, Anne (R)	SAR		
Χ	Decosimo, David (R	STH	X L	Lopez, Luz (A)			SSW		Unger, Barry (R)	MET	
	di Robilant, Anna (A	LAW		Luebke, Jennifer (R)			MED	Χ	Ünlü, Selim (A)	ENG	
Χ	Dogru, Tarik (R)	SHA		nch, Shav	•	CGS		Vandenberg, Kathleen (A)	CGS		
Χ	Doherty, Mary-Jane	COM		McLaughlin, Donna (R)			SSW	Χ	Volk, Robert (A)	LAW	
	Downes, Edward (A	COM	N	Metheny, Karen (A)			MET	Χ	Webster, Kathryn (A)	SAR	
Χ	Ellenwood, Stephar	d, Stephan (R) SED X Miller, Mar			go (	(R)	CELOP		Will, Leslie (R)	GSDM	
	Elwy, A. Rani (R)				lody, Makarand (A)			SHA		Wippl, Joe (A)	Pardee
Χ	Feely, Rich (R)	SPH	Ν	Mulvihill, Maggie (A)			COM		Zumwalt, Ann (R)	MED	
Χ	Fernandez-Val, Ivar	CAS	N	Nentwich, Lauren (R)			MED				
-											
<u> </u>											

Guests: Kenneth Elmore, Associate Provost and Dean of Students; Erika Geetter, General Counsel; Stephen Burgay, Senior Vice President of External Affairs

#### I. Secretary's Report: Approval of the Minutes

There being a quorum, the minutes of the October 3, 2017 Faculty Council meeting were approved unanimously.

#### II. VOTE: School of Law Dean Search Advisory Committee

On October 23, 2017, University Provost Jean Morrison issued a call to form a Dean Search Advisory Committee for the School of Law. Pursuant to the Faculty Handbook, the Council elects two (2) faculty members to serve on the Committee who hold appointments external to the school subject to the search. A call for nominations was sent via email to the Faculty Assembly. The following faculty members stood for election to the Committee: Ana Albuquerque (Questrom); Ran Canetti (CAS Computer Science); Margaret Errante (GSDM); Flora Sam (MED); Virginia Sapiro (CAS Political Science); Graham Wilson (CAS Political Science).

The Faculty Council elected Virginia Sapiro to serve on the Committee. Ana Albuquerque and Ran Canetti tied for the second seat. A second ballot was distributed to the Council members and they elected Ana Albuquerque to the Committee.

#### III. Report: Sustainability Committee

Jennifer Luebke, Chair of the Sustainability Committee, informed the Council that the Task Force on Climate Action will submit its report to the Board of Trustees for a vote in December. The Sustainability Committee recommends that the Faculty Council endorse the adoption of the Climate Action "BU Bold" plan and forward a statement to the Board of Trustees before it votes on the matter. The Faculty Council heard the report of the Task Force at the September 12 meeting and at the Faculty Assembly on October 25. Committee Chair Luebke reviewed the high-level recommendations of the Climate Action Plan.

A general discussion followed. A Council member said more information is needed about the cost of the BU Bold plan, as the three plans in the report do not list the cost. A Council member noted that the MED campus is at high risk in the city's flood plain and aggressive action is needed. Another Council member said that the BU Bold plan is an opportunity for the University to be a local leader on climate action, as it is more ambitious than the City of Boston plan.

Committee Chair Luebke said she will present the proposed text of the endorsement to the Faculty Council at the December 5 meeting.

## IV. Guests: Kenneth Elmore, Associate Provost and Dean of Students; Erika Geetter, General Counsel; Stephen Burgay, Senior Vice President of External Affairs

Dean Elmore moderated a discussion about protections of free speech on campus. Dean Elmore shared some of the concerns that students have brought to him and informed the Council of the outreach his office does to promote civil discourse among the students. Ms. Geetter explained the role her office plays in protecting the rights of faculty and students. Mr. Burgay explained the role his office plays in managing public relations for the University. Dean Elmore presented a few hypothetical examples for discussion and the Council considered scenarios that pose a threatening environment for students and scenarios that pose a threat to free speech.

Chair Dixon thanked the guests. The guests told the Council that they are welcome to call their respective offices if they have questions or concerns.

### V. New business and adjournment

There being no new business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Eileen O'Keefe Secretary-treasurer