Sponsored by the Merrill L. Ebner Fund, the annual Engineering Design Portfolio Contest is open to all students in the College of Engineering. The goal of the contest is to promote design and to showcase the importance of design skills in engineering. Additionally and perhaps even most importantly, the goal of the contest is to encourage students to create a design portfolio, as it can be a powerful tool in obtaining an internship or job in industry. Material in portfolios should be anything that displays creative engineering work and skills. This could be from classwork, personal projects, internships, etc.

Winners are selected in the following categories and are awarded prizes in the amount of: Best Senior ($500), Best Graduate Student ($500), Best Junior ($400), Best Sophomore ($250), Best FYS ($100). An additional prize of $500 is awarded to the student with the Best Overall Portfolio!


If you need some help getting started with your design portfolio or polishing it up, or want some tips from our past winners, join us for these events!

Introduction to Engineering Portfolios
Thursday, March 16 5:00 – 6:00pm (ENG 245)

Technical Sketching Workshop
Wednesday, March 22, 5:00 – 6:00pm (ENG 245)

Panel: Insider Tips for Great Portfolios
Wednesday, March 29, 5:00 – 6:00pm (ENG 245)

Past Winners

Congratulations to our past winners! Where possible we have included a link to their winning portfolio, but note that some older sites may have expired.

2022 Contest Winners

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Best Graduate Student: Andrew Garrison
Best Senior: Jessica Man
Best Junior: Mikayla Crowley
Best Sophomore: Manuel Segimón Plana
Best Freshman: Maggie Driggs

Best Overall: Andrew Garrison

2020 Winners

Best Senior: Matthew Averill
Best Junior: Aaron Hwang
Best Sophomore: Gayatri Sundar Rajan

Best Overall: Aaron Hwang

2019 Winners

Best Senior: Brandon A. Sookraj
Best Junior: Theron Tarigo
Best Sophomore: Justin Fiaschetti
Best Freshman: Trevor Melsheimer

Best Overall: Justin Fiaschetti

2018 Winners

Best LEAP Phase 1: Kristof Fogarasi
Best Senior: Daniel Poe
Best Junior: Lucas Watson
Best Sophomore: Aily Watson
Best Freshman: Austin Briggs

Best Overall: Austin Briggs

2017 Winners

Best Senior: Evi Shiakolas
Best Junior: Daniel Poe
Best Sophomore: Lucas Watson
Best Freshman: Aily Walker

Best Overall: Evi Shiakolas

2016 Winners

Best LEAP Phase 1: Alex Chang
Best Senior: David Miller
Best Junior: Zachary Lasiuk
Best Sophomore: Ashlyn Aiello
Best Freshman: Nikunj Khetan

Best Overall: David Miller

2015 Winners

Best LEAP Phase 1: Rami Hamzey
Best Senior: Armor Harris
Best Junior: Mehmet Akbulut
Best Sophomore: Joseph Beaupre
Best Freshman: Douglas Lescarbeau

Best Overall: Armor Harris