Charles DeLisi Award and Lecture

Xin Zhang Presents DeLisi Distinguished Lecture
Past DeLisi Distinguished Lecturer Xin Zhang

 The College of Engineering Charles DeLisi Award and Lecture celebrates high-impact research in engineering and annually honors one of our faculty engaged in outstanding research. This showcasing event allows all members of the Boston University community to meet a distinguished scholar selected from the College of Engineering faculty discussing a topic of recognized excellence.

Widely considered the father of the Human Genome Project, DeLisi was an early pioneer in computational molecular biology, and also made seminal contributions to theoretical and mathematical immunology. He currently serves as Metcalf Professor of Science and Engineering, and continues to direct the Biomolecular Systems Laboratory, where more than 100 undergraduate, graduate and post-doctoral students have trained.

As Dean of the College of Engineering from 1990 to 2000, he recruited leading researchers in biomedical, manufacturing, aerospace and mechanical engineering, photonics and other engineering fields, establishing a research infrastructure that ultimately propelled the College into the top ranks of engineering graduate programs. In 1999 he founded—and then chaired for more than a decade—BU’s Bioinformatics Program, the first such program in the nation.

2021 Recipient

Professor Zhiping Weng

2021 Lecture Topic

Annotating Human and Mouse Candidate cis-Regulatory Elements in the ENCODE Project

Event Coverage

Event Program

Past Recipients