SE Professor & Alumni Earn Awards & Appointments

The Division of Systems Engineering (SE) is proud to announce that three SE affiliates, current and former, have recently received notable awards and appointments. Their accomplishments are wide-ranging, and the Division congratulates them on their well-merited recognition.


Yannis Paschalidis, Distinguished Professor of Engineering (ECE, BME, SE) and Director of the Rafik B. Hariri Institute for Computing and Computational Science and Engineering, received the 2023 College of Engineering Faculty Service Award at the College of Engineering convocation on May 18, 2023. He was elected by the College Executive Committee for the award, which recognizes contributions made to the College of Engineering that are not directly related to teaching or research.


Shahabeddin Sotudian received the 2023 SE Outstanding Dissertation Award for his paper, “Robust Learning to Rank Models and their Biomedical Applications.” His research focused on developing and applying computational methods in translation epigenomics to advance healthcare systems using data analytics techniques. At Boston University, he developed ranking algorithms for drug discovery problems.




Darryl Ahner was appointed Dean of the Wright State University College of Engineering and Computer Science, starting July 3, 2023. Ahner graduated from the BU College of Engineering Division of SE in 2005, and his dissertation was titled “Planning and Control of Unmanned Aerial Vehicles in a Dynamic Stochastic System.” Previously, he served as the Dean for research at the Air Force Institute of Technology at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base.



Written by Mandile Mpofu