Professor Theodore Moustakas Wins MBE Innovator Award


Professor Theodore Moustakas
Professor Theodore Moustakas

Only seven people have previously received the Molecular Beam Epitaxy (MBE) Innovator Award – and ECE Professor Theodore Moustakas is now a part of the elite group, too.

Sponsored by the North American MBE Advisory Board (NAMBE) and Veeco, the award recognizes individuals significantly advancing the field of MBE, an atomic-layer-by-atomic-layer thin-film growth technique, through ground-breaking work.

The chair of the NAMBE Advisory Board, Charles W. Tu, wrote in a letter to Boston University Provost David K. Campbell that Moustakas was being recognized “for pioneering contributions in the development of MBE growth of nitride materials and the development of nitride optoelectronic devices prepared by MBE.”

Upon finding out he had won the award, Moustakas gave credit to those he’s had the pleasure to work with.

“I earned this prestigious award because I was blessed to have good students and collaborators both at Boston University and other institutions,” he said.

As part of the honor, Moustakas will receive $3,000 from Veeco Instruments and a plaque from the NAMBE Advisory Board at the annual NAMBE Conference in Breckenridge, Colo., on Sept. 28.

Past winners of the award include William Hoke (Raytheon Company), Arthur Gossard (University of California, Santa Barbara) and James Harris (Stanford University), all of whom Moustakas said are “considered giants in their respective areas of the field.”

Read more about the award.

-Rachel Harrington (