Seven ECE Faculty Members Receive 2007 Dean’s Catalyst Awards


The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) is pleased to announce that seven ECE faculty members spanning three collaborative research projects have been chosen as recipients of the inaugural Dean’s Catalyst Award (DCA). The three ECE projects were among five proposals selected from a field of 16 submitted for review to the DAC committee. These proposals were chosen for their ability to “represent the program’s stated goals of innovative cross-cutting, collaborative research in one or more of [its] umbrella groups.” The ECE faculty members and their award-winning proposals are:

  • Luca Dal Negro and Robert Kotiuga: Symbolic Dynamics for the Design and Engineering of Localized Giant Fields on Aperiodic Metal Nanostructure Arrays on Silicon Chips;
  • Tom Little, Janusz Konrad, and Prakash Ishwar: Development of a Wireless Video Sensor Network Research Platform; and
  • Masoud Sharif and Selim Ünlü: Towards High Throughput and Sensitivity Optical Biosensors via Signal Processing Algorithms