GSDM community was all smiles during 2023 Yankee Dental Congress 


The Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine (GSDM) community was thrilled to be attending the Yankee Dental Congress from January 26-28 at the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center, with three days full of reuniting with former classmates and faculty in the alumni lounge, celebrating each other’s successes, and mingling at the alumni reception. 

This year’s event was the first Yankee Dental Congress without COVID-19 restrictions since February 2020.  

“It was a real pleasure to see this year’s Yankee Dental Congress operating in a similar fashion to pre-pandemic ways,” Stacey McNamee, director of Alumni Relations & Annual Giving, said. “Every year, Yankee Dental Congress is always a great time to catch up, reflect on the past year and honor those who are doing outstanding work in the field.”  

From students to faculty, many members of the GSDM community were recognized during the conference for their academic and clinical excellence and their main contributions to the profession. Below are some of the highlights from this year’s events.  



Six GSDM alumni named to MDS “10 under Ten” list 

GSDM alumni accounted for more than half of the Massachusetts Dental Society “10 under Ten” recipients this year. Six GSDM alumni were recognized as dentists who have made significant contributions to the field and have been in the profession for 10 years or less.    

  •          Joshua Hurlburt PEDO 22
  •          Manish Juneja DMD 17
  •          Hongsheng Liu DMD 10 ENDO 12
  •          Justine Karanian MED 11 DMD 15
  •          Kyle Medeiros MED 12 DMD 17
  •          Anisha Pandya DMD 20

Seven GSDM alumni, faculty inducted into Pierre Fauchard Academy 

Seven GSDM alumni and/or faculty members were inducted into the Pierre Fauchard Academy during the dental honor society’s annual breakfast meeting on Friday morning.   

  • John Gusha DMD 84 
  • Matthew Mara DMD 16 AEGD 17 Wheelock 19 (faculty) 
  • Vasiliki Maseli, Clinical Associate Professor of General Dentistry 
  • Andrew Miller DMD 12 AEGD 13 ENDO 15 (faculty) 
  • Hesham Nouh PROS 15 (faculty)
  • Ashish Agarwal DMD 17
  • Divya Mudumba DMD 20 

    During the breakfast, the organization also recognized its 2022 scholarship winners, including Mohamad Srour DMD 23, who was selected as a “deserving third year dental student.” Three other GSDM alumni and/or faculty – Manish Juneja DMD 17, Ana Keohane DMD 16, and Rashmi Shah PEDO 79 – attended the breakfast, after being inducted into the society during the national meeting in 2022.  


    Former GSDM faculty member recognized as Yankee Dental 2023 award winner 

    Dr. Jonathan Shenkin, former clinical professor of health policy & health services research, and pediatric dentistry, was presented posthumously with the James W. Etherington Award from Yankee Dental Congress. This award is given annually in recognition of New England dentists who dedicate much of their professional lives to furthering the high ideals and objectives of organized dentistry. Dr. Shenkin’s brother was in attendance to accept the award; Dr. Shenkin passed away in August 2021. 


    Photo from Yankee Dental Congress Reception
    Check out more photos from the event in this Flickr album

    DMD students participate in debate 

    Scott Hunter DMD 25 and Avi Nagpal SAR 20 MED 21 DMD 25 represented GSDM in the fourth annual American Student Dental Association District 1 debate on Saturday. The competing debate teams were from University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine, Harvard School of Dental Medicine, University of New England College of Dental Medicine, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine and Pre-Dental, debating issues and policies currently challenging the dental education system and profession.  GSDM was victorious in its first-round face-off against Harvard. GSDM advanced to the final round against University of New England, with University of New England ultimately winning the debate.   


    GSDM student, alumna recognized by ACD 

    Joshua Clarke DMD 23 received the Senior Dental Student Award from the American College of Dentists New England Section during the organization’s winter meeting, held on Saturday. Clarke was selected due to his outstanding achievements in academics and leadership, and his initiative; Dean Cataldo Leone was on hand to present the award.  

    Also, during the ACD luncheon, Pamela Baldassarre DMD 82 PERIO 84 received the Thomas F. Winkler Award, which recognized her leadership and dedication to both the dental profession and the American College of Dentists New England Section.  


    Hundreds of GSDM community members attend annual reception 

    This year marked the first alumni reception since 2020; both 2021 and 2022 were cancelled due to COVID-19 precautions, as well as the 2022 snowstorm that left the Greater Boston area with almost two feet of snow.  

    Friday evening was full of joyous reunions and cheerful laughter with over 500 attendees, including alumni, faculty, students, residents, and friends of GSDM in attendance at the Plaza Ballroom in the Seaport Hotel. A new barcode-based check-in system led to a quick and easy entrance to the night’s festivities.  

    Dean Cataldo Leone kicked off the evening with opening remarks, which welcomed all alumni and thanked everyone for creating a lovely evening.  


    By Rachel Grace Philipson