| in Community

Over two dozen CAS faculty members earned competitive fellowships, awards, and honors in just the first three months of 2021. Their research interests span the breadth of the arts and sciences.

Mark Bun (National Science Foundation CAREER Award) and Adam Smith (Association for Computing Machinery Fellowship) will each use their research awards to investigate how to publish statistical analyses while maintaining individual privacy. Nicole Sealey (National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship), whose work has won numerous prizes and appeared in The New Yorker and The New York Times, will use hers to write more poems. Pamela Templer (Charles Bullard Fellowship in Forest Research at Harvard) will analyze long-term data on carbon sequestration in order to better understand this process, which helps moderate global warming. And Ashley Mears (Fellowship at the Institute for Advanced Studywill examine the changing relationship between love and money in digital culture.  

Congratulations to all award winners! 

2021 Awards and Fellowships 

The following is a partial list of external and internal fellowships and awards or honors announced so far in 2021 for CAS faculty. 

External Awards 

Sloan Research Fellowship 

  • Alina Ene, Computer Science 

John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship

  • William Giraldi, Writing Program

National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship 

  • Nicole Sealey, Creative Writing

National Science Foundation CAREER Award 

  • Mark Bun, Computer Science 
  • Emily Whiting, Computer Science

2020 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Fellows (announced in 2021) 

  • Ran Canetti, Computer Science 
  • Adam Smith, Computer Science/ENG 

Humboldt Award 

  • Frank Korom, Religion 

Fellowship at the Institute for Advanced Study, Central European University 

  • Ashley Mears, Sociology 

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Grant 

  • Heather Schoenfeld, Sociology 

 Charles Bullard Fellowship in Forest Research at Harvard for AY21/22 

  • Pamela Templer, Biology 

Elected to Three-Year Term as President of the American Institute for Indonesian Studies 

  • Robert Hefner, Anthropology 

Berenson Fellowship at Villa ‘I Tatti’, the Harvard Center for Renaissance Studies in Florence (Italy) 

  • Eugenio Menegon, History

Borchard Foundation Center on Law & Aging Grant 

  • Deborah Carr, Sociology

National Science Foundation Award

  • Michael Mendillo and Carlos Martinis, Astronomy; Jeffrey Baumgardner, Center for Space Physics

Internal BU/CAS Awards 

Boston University Provost’s Scholar-Teacher of the Year Award 

  • Pamela Templer, Biology

Career Development Professorship 

  • Kate Lindsey, Linguistics 

BU Center for the Humanities Henderson Senior Research Fellowship for AY 21/22 

  • Cynthia Becker, History of Art & Architecture 
  • Abigail Gillman, World Languages & Literatures 
  • Irit Kleiman, Romance Studies 
  • Erin Murphy, English 
  • Stephen Prothero, Religion 
  • Susanne Sreedhar, Philosophy 
  • Robert Weller, Anthropology 

BU Center for the Humanities Junior Faculty Fellowship for AY 21/22 

  • Jennifer Cazenave, Romance Studies 
  • Takeo Rivera, English