BUCLD 44 Business Report

Charles B. Chang Paul Hagstrom Amy Lieberman

Boston University November 7, 2019

Funders

Thanks to our funding sources and donors!

NSF Grant BCS-1728962



NIH Grant R13HD090968-01



BU Vice President & Associate Provost for Research



Reviewers

Thanks to all of the 158 abstract reviewers!

Sunyoung Ahn Alex de Carvalho Angela Xiaoxue He Srishti Nayak Antonella Sorace Nameera Akhtar Cecile De Cat Kathy Hirsh-Pasek Elissa Newport Rex Sprouse Rama Novogrodsky Jeffrey Steele Irma Alarcón Laura de Ruiter Barbara Höhle William O'Grady José Alemán Bañón Jill de Villiers Holger Hopp Kristen Syrett **Ben Ambridge** Kamil Deen Yi Ting Huang Janna Oetting Anne-Michelle Tessier Laurent Dekydtspotter Sudha Arunachalam Carla Hudson Kam Yohei Oseki Anna Theakston **Emily Atkinson Katherine Demuth** Mary Hughes Mitsuhiko Ota Jill Thorson Seyda Ozcaliskan Almeida Jacqueline Toribio Isabelle Barrière Brian Dillon Tania Ionin Ewelina Barski Aslı Özyürek John Trueswell Ken Drozd Ivan Ivanov Outi Bat-El **Rachel Dudley** Michael Iverson **Bozena** Pajak Ianthi Tsimpli **Fdith Bavin** Micha Elsner Juhani Järvikivi Daniele Panizza Virginia Valian Misha Becker Naomi Feldman Nan Jiang Anna Papafragou Suzanne van der Feest Marieke van Heugten Titia Benders Paula Fikkert Harriet Jisa Johanne Paradis Elika Bergelson Kalliopi Katsika Allison Fitch Lisa Pearl Angeliek van Hout **Molly Flaherty** Dorit Kaufman Barbara Zurer Pearson Spyridoula Varlokosta Nan Bernstein Ratner Patrick Bolger Maria João Freitas Sihui KE **Christine Potter** Marilyn Vihman Laura Bosch Alison Gabriele Loes Koring Nausicaa Pouscoulous Laura Wagner Silke Brandt Deanna Gagne Usha Lakshmanan Philippe Prévost Adriana Weisleder **Clifton Pye** Ellen Broselow Anna Gavarró Laura Lakusta Daniel Weiss Ann Bunger Juliana Gerard Jason Rothman Alexis Wellwood **Beth Levin** Krista Byers-Heinlein **Casey Lew-Williams** Phaedra Royle Lvdia White Lisa Gershkoff-Stowe Jennifer Cabrelli Amaro Helen Goodluck Juana Liceras Tetsuya Sano Anne Wienholz Helen Cairns Eileen Graf Amy Lieberman **Teresa Satterfield** Erica Wojcik Elena Lieven Marisa Casillas Elaine Grolla Petra Schulz Fei Xu Charles B. Chang Theres Grüter Cynthia Lukyanenko Bonnie D. Schwartz Charles Yang Ayşe Gürel Jinsun Choe Victoria Mateu Amanda Seidl **Ouin Yow** Chen Yu Anne Christophe Martin Hackl Utako Minai Ludovica Serratrice Pamela Hadlev Naomi Shin Daniel Yurovsky Erin Conwell **Toben Mintz** Yair Haendler Silvina Montrul Yasuhiro Shirai Tania Zamuner Peter Coopmans Ailís Cournane Filip Smolík Andrea Zukowski Paul Hagstrom James Morgan Jennifer Culbertson Cornelia Hamann Vincenzo Moscati William Snyder Isabelle Dautriche Joshua Hartshorne Bhuvana Narasimhan Hyun-joo Song

Submission and acceptance

Abstracts submitted/accepted (last 10 yrs.)

	N submitted	N accepted	% accepted
2010	423	153*	36%*
2011	479	153*	32%*
2012	514	153*	30%*
2013	447	141*	32%*
2014	555	181*	33%*
2015	490	177*	36%*
2016	403	177*	44%*
2017	360	177*	49%*
2018	372	177*	48%*
2019	407	189	46%

* excludes alternates

Symposia

- Last year's attendance at the symposia was high and postconference survey comments were positive.
- This year, the symposium CFP went out earlier than (and separately from) the regular call.
- 7 proposals were received and reviewed by a panel of 18 reviewers.
- Positive reviews of more than two proposals made selecting only two more difficult than in past years.
- We would like to continue to encourage attendees to develop and submit symposium proposals in the future.

Attendee information

Attendance rates (last 10 yrs.)

	Stuc	lents	Non-st	udents	Total
2010	341	54%	291	46%	632
2011	220	45%	270	55%	490
2012	271	55%	226	45%	497
2013	215	52%	198	48%	413
2014	267	58%	197	42%	464
2015	239	55%	197	45%	436
2016	224	50%	221	50%	445
2017	301	52%	274	48%	575
2018	235	48%	252	52%	487
2019	226	50%	228	50%	454

Note: These numbers include student volunteers.

Student travel awards for authors (Paula Menyuk Award; last 10 yrs.)

	N recipients	Amount awarded
2010	28	\$8400
2011	28	\$8400
2012	31	\$8400
2013	35	\$10500
2014	35	\$10500
2015	35	\$10500
2016	35	\$10500
2017	39	\$11550
2018	24	\$9600
2019	35	\$11550

Student travel awards for diversity (Diversity Enhancement Award; since inception)

	N recipients	Amount awarded
2017	10	\$5700
2018	7	\$4200
2019	9	\$4800

Student attendance incentives

- Maintained low student registration rate (<50% of nonstudent rate)
- Continued to hold **2 poster sessions** (not competing with talk sessions) more accessible for novice presenters
- Continued to give student travel awards to both authors and non-authors (over 40, totaling \$16K+ in support)
- Continued to **recognize best student papers** (with *Jean Berko Gleason Award*)
- Continued to organize student workshop specifically for trainees (students & postdocs)

(Relatively) new this year!

- **Pop-Up Mentoring Program** (in collaboration with LSA)
- Several new options for lodging/accommodations added
- Web schedule/program revamped (with **short** abstracts)
- Printed matter shortened, provided in pamphlet along with conference folder
- Poster sessions in Metcalf Small (instead of Metcalf Large)
- East Balcony replaced Metcalf Small for Session A room (HVAC in Metcalf Small found to be too noisy)
- Separate Q&A mics in every session (1 for 'students / postdocs', 1 for 'general audience'), alternation between mics
- Student Workshop moved to Thursday evening (from Sunday afternoon), refreshments provided
- Conference reception moved to Saturday (from Friday)
- Fridge in lactation room

Any suggestions? Ideas for improvement? Please fill out the **post-conference survey**! You will receive the link via email.