KCACTF recognizes BU playwrights for outstanding work

BU MFA Playwrights and alums were among the honorees at last weekend’s Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival.

Rx Machina by Caity Shea Violette (produced in BPT’s 2021-22 season) was named co-recipient of The National Student Playwriting Award.

Cayenne Douglass’ Atlantic City Seagulls and Beasts (produced in BPT’s 2021-22 season) were cited as honorable mentions for the Lorraine Hansberry Playwriting Award.

Third-year playwright J.C. Pankratz was acknowledged for distinguished achievement (the Rosa Parks Playwriting Award and Paula Vogel Playwriting Award) for their play King of Brando. King of Brando was also the second-place recipient of the Mark Twain Prizes for Comic Playwriting.

First-year MFA Playwright Tina Esper’s Neighbor Jane was co-recipient of the 2023 National Partners of the American Theatre’s Julie Jensen Playwriting Award. 

Third-year playwright Jay Eddy’s The Gull received the KCACTF Musical Theatre Award.

Congratulations, all!