

PresidentJennifer Wies

Past-President Michael Paolisso

> **Secretary** Gemmae Fix

TreasurerCarla Guerron Montero

Board of Directors
Hedda Askland
Michael Duke
David Himmelgreen
Teresa Johnson
Sherilyne Jones
Amy Paul-Ward
Nathaniel Tashima

Human Organization Lenore Manderson, Editor

Practicing Anthropology Lisa Jane Hardy, Editor

2024 Annual MeetingSanta Fe, NM
Chair: A.J. Faas

Annual Meeting Coordinator Donald D. Stull

> Executive Director Neil E. Hann

SfAA Office PO Box 2436 Oklahoma City, OK 73101 405.843.5113 info@appliedanthro.org www.appliedanthro.org February 7, 2024

Kenneth W. Freeman, Ph.D. President Ad Interim Boston University

Dear Dr. Freeman:

I am pleased to inform you that the 2nd place winner of the 2024 Peter K. New Student Research Award is Leyla Jafarova. Ms. Jafarova is a Ph.D. student at Boston University in the Anthropology Department. The New Award is presented each year by the Society for Applied Anthropology to the winner of a student research competition.

The paper that Ms. Jafarova submitted, "Ethics, Epistemologies, and Humanitarianism: Exploring Alternative Ways of Knowing about Missing Persons in Post-War Azerbaijan," was selected from a large number of submissions from students enrolled in graduate and undergraduate programs in the United States and abroad. A panel of senior social scientists juried the competition.

Jafarova will receive a cash prize of \$1500. She will also present her paper at a featured session during the 84th Annual Meeting of the Society for Applied Anthropology. Following the customary peer review, her paper could be accepted for publication in our journal, *Human Organization*.

The New Competition and Award honors the memory of the late Professor Peter Kong-ming New, a prominent anthropologist/sociologist who served earlier as President of the Society. Prior to his death in 1985, Prof. New was a member of the Department of Sociology at USF and served as the Chair of that Department. The Award was made possible by a generous bequest from his widow, Mary Louie New. The Competition was initiated in 1990 and has been held annually since that time.

The winners of the annual competition have come from a variety of prominent institutions, including the University of California-Berkeley, Yale University, the University of Wisconsin, Princeton University, the University of Florida, New York University, and Toronto University.

The past winners of the Competition have achieved notable distinction in their particular fields. For example, previous winner Peter Hessler, who is now a staff writer for *New Yorker Magazine*, was short-listed for the National Book Award for his book on Chinese society, *Oracle Bones*. He was selected in 2013 for a MacArthur Award. Another recipient, Prof. Devah Pager, was named as an Outstanding Teacher by her colleagues at Princeton University. And previous winner Prof. Nancy Schoenberg was named to an endowed chair on the faculty of the College of Medicine at the University of Kentucky.

We extend our congratulations to the University, the Anthropology Department, and to Ms. Jafarova's advisor, Prof. Ayse Parla.

Sincerely,

Jennifer R. Wies, Ph.D

President

Cc – Principal of Brasenose College, Dr. John Bowers
Dean, Arts and Sciences, Dr. Stan Sclaroff
Chair, Department of Anthropology, Nancy Smith Hefner
Advisor, Dr. Ayse Parla