Members A-D

Membership > Individual Members > A-D

A

Edmund Abaka

University of Miami
History Department 
e.abaka@miami.edu
History, African Studies, International Studies, Ghana, West Africa, Cuba

Tahar Abbou

University of Adrar (Algeria)
abboutahar@hotmail.com
West Africa, The Gold Coast and Algeria

Ofosuwa Mutashat Abiola

Howard University
History Department
ofosuwaabiola@aol.com
Pre-colonial Senegalese Cultural History, Africana Studies, Women’s History, History of African Dance

Nwando Achebe

Michigan State University
History Department 
achebe@msu.edu
West African History, Women, Gender, & Sexual History, Oral History

Aremu Olajire Adegoke

University of Ibadan (Nigeria)
Department Pharmacy Chemistry
ao.adegoke@mail.ui.edu.ng
Pharmaceutical analysis and synthetic chemistry

Kayode Adewole

University of Ilorin (Nigeria)
Department of Biochemistry
kayowolemi@yahoo.com
Biochemistry, toxicology, peptide science

Valerie Adjoh-Davoh

University of Cape Coast
Department of History
dadjohdavoh@yahoo.com
Ghana, History

Augustine Agwuele 

Texas State University
Anthropology Department
aa21@txstate.edu
West Africa, Linguistics, Anthropology

Victoria Agyare-Appiah

University of Cape Coast
Religions and Human Values Department
nanahemmaa@yahoo.com
Religious Studies, Ghana

Jeffrey Ahlman 

Smith College
Department of History
jahlman@smith.edu
African History

Flora Aigbe 

University of Lagos
College of Medicine
aigbeflora@gmail.com
Pharmacology, Therapeutics and Toxicology

Septime Akibode

Eurêka!
akibodeseptime@yahoo.fr

Gerard Akindes

Ohio University
Sports Administration- International Studies
akindesg@ohio.edu
Media, Sociology and Economics of Sport in Francophone Africa

Emmanuel Akyeampong

Harvard University
History Department
akyeamp@fas.harvard.edu
West African History, Comparative Slavery, Social and Cultural History

Abel Amado

Simmons College
Political Science
ssybale@gmail.com
Lusophone Africa, Cape Verde, Politics

Ousseina Alidou

Rutgers University
Department of African-American and African Studies
Oalidou@rci.rutgers.edu
African Literature

Samuel Anderson

University of California, Los Angeles
History Department
samuelanderson@ucla.edu
History of Maghrib, Sahara, Sahel, Algeria and Senegal

A. G. Ansong

George Mason University
Department of Urban Planning
gemfoowah@gmail.com
Sub Sahara Africa

Catherine Appert

Cornell University 
Musicology
cma249@cornell.edu
African music, global hip hop, Atlantic studies

Stephen Arbogast

St. Mark’s School of Texas
Chaplain
ArbogastS@smtexas.org
Workplace Ethics, Just Global Society, Religious Commmunities

De Guio Armando

University of Padua 
Department of Cultural Heritage: Archaeology and History of Art, Cinema and Music
deguio.archeologia@gmail.com
Archaeology, Burkina-Faso, Ethno-historical Archaeology

Mary Jo Arnoldi

Smithsonian Institution
Anthropology Department
arnoldim@si.edu
Art History, Cultural Anthropology

Leornado Arriola

UC Berkeley
Political Science Department
larriola@berkeley.edu
Democratisation, Coalition Politics

Erin Joanna Augis

Ramapo College of New Jersey
Department of Sociology
eaugis@ramapo.edu
Gender, Religion

To top

B

Tracy Bach

Vermont Law School
tbach@vermontlaw.edu
Environmental law, environmental health, climate change, rule of law, governance
Senegal, West Africa, Francophone Africa 

Allison Backman

Boston University
School of Social Work
arbackman@gmail.com
Social Work, Public Health

Abu Bah

Northern Illinois University
Department of Sociology
abah@niu.edu
Sociology, Political Science, History

Oluwakemi Balogun

University of Oregon
Department of Sociology
kbalogum@uoregon.edu
Sociology, Women and Gender Studies

Maimouna Barro

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
barro@illinois.edu
West Africa

Robert Baum

Dartmouth College
Department of Religion
robert.m.baum@dartmouth.edu
Indigenous Religion, Anthropology, History, Religious studies

Dara Bayer

Boston Arts Academy
Humanities Department
darabayer1@gmail.com
Nigeria, Religions, Yoruba culture

Yusuf Bello

Federal University Dutsin-ma (Nigeria)
Department of Mathematical Sciences and Information Technology
bystat10@gmail.com
Statistics

Sara Berry

Johns Hopkins University
History Department
sberry@jhu.edu
History, Political Economy, Anthropology

Abhit Bhandari

Columbia University
Political Science Department
ab3901@columbia.edu
Political economy of development; contract enforcement; property rights; informal institutions

James Blackwell 

Michigan State University
Department of History
jblackw9@gmail.com
History

Michael Blakey 

William & Mary
School of Arts & Sciences, Anthropology
michaellblakey@gmail.com
Biological anthropology, biohistory, African diaspora

Alice Bonou 

Universite Cheikh Anta Diop (Senegal)
FASEG
alice.bonou@gmail.com
Economics of Climate Change

Catherine Boone

University of Texas at Austin
Department of Government
cboone@mail.la.utexas.edu
Political Economy

Vincent A. Bouchard

Indiana University
Francophone Studies
vbouchard@indiana.edu
Media and cultural studies

Joseph Bradshaw

Michigan State University
History Department
bradsh41@msu.edu
Islam in Africa, Mali, Senegal, Mauritania

China Braekman

Columbia University
Departments of Anthropology/Political Science
cnb2125@columbia.edu
Anthropology and Political Science, Senegal, France

Lawrence Breitborde

Knox College
Anthropology & Sociology 
lbreitbo@knox.edu
Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology, Urban Studies

Leif Brottem

University of Wisconsin- Madison
Geography Department
leifbrottem@gmail.com
Land tenure, resource governance, conservation, climate change, savanna

Fahamisha Brown

Metropolitan College of New York
Department of Urban Studies/ Human Services 
fahamishabrown@hotmail.com
Literature, Orality, Poetry, women writers

Devin Bryson

Illinois College
Modern Languages Department
devin.bryson@mail.ic.edu
French and Francophone Studies

Emma Bunkley

University of Arizona
School of Anthropology
emma.bunkley@gmail.com
Chronic Disease, Infectious Diseases, Women and Gender Issues

Beth Buggenhagen

Indiana University
Department of Anthropology
babuggen@indiana.edu
Circulation Value, Islam, Gender, Transnationalism

Henry Nii Nmai Bulley 

BMCC City University of New York 
Department of Social Science & Human Services
hnbulley1@gmail.com
Sustainable Development, Environmental Conservation, Land Use assessment, GIS, remote Sensing, water resources, Landscape ecology

Judith Byfield

Cornell University
Department of History
jab632@cornell.edu
Gender and Nigeria

To top

C

Rebecca Louise Carter 

Brown University
Department of Anthropology and Urban Studies
rebecca_carter@brown.edu
Cultural Anthropology, Urban Studies

Susana Castillo-Rodriguez

Saint Anselm College
Department of Mordern Languages and Literatures
scastillorodriguez@anselm.edu
Anthropology, Linguistics, Missionary/Colonial Linguistics

Mbye Cham

Howard University
Department of African Studies
mcham@howard.edu
Literature and Film

Tucker Childs

Portland State University
Department of Linguistics
childst@pdx.edu
History, Linguistics, Phonology

Matthew Christensen

University of Texas, Pan American
Department of English
mchriste@utpa.edu
English, Comparative Literature, Sierra Leone, Nigeria

Gloria Chuku

University of Maryland Baltimore County
Africana Studies
chuku@umbc.edu
History, United States, Nigeria

Mamadou Cisse

Universite Cheikh Anta Diop (Senegal)
Department of Linguistics and Language Sciences
mamadoucisse@hotmail.com
Descriptive linguistics, African studies

Youssoufou Congo

Center for Global Development
ycongo@hotmail.com
Economics, Microfinance

Barbara Cooper

Rutgers University
Department of History
barbara.cooper@rutgers.edu
West Africa, Gender, Islam

Peter Reid Coutros

Yale University
Anthropology Department
peter.coutros@yale.edu
Archaeology, Mali, Senegal

Ashley Currier

University of Cincinnati
Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
currieay@ucmail.uc.edu
Social movements, gender, Sexuality, nationalism

To top

D

Karima Daoudi

Independent Researcher
karima.daoudi@hotmail.com
Ethnomusicology, Anthropology

Mark Davidheiser

Nova Southeastern University
Department of Conflict Analysis & Resolution
mdavidhe@yahoo.com
Socio-cultural Anthropology, African Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies, Mande Studies,
Conflict Analysis and Resolution, Political Science, Sociology, History

Justine Davis

University of California, Berkeley
Political Science Department
justine.davis@berkeley.edu
Conflict, Violence, Democratization, Political Participation, Social movements, Voting Behavior, Youth

Meghan Davis

University of London
School of Oriental and African Studies
mkd6189@gmail.com
Horn of Africa, West Africa

Josephine Dawuni

Howard University 
School of Arts and Sciences
Josephine.Dawuni@Howard.edu
Gender, Politics, Africa

Adrian Deese

Cornell University
Department of History
amd335@cornell.edu
West African History (Nigeria, Ghana, Benin)

Alioune Deme

Universite Cheikh Anta Diop (Senegal)
History Department
alioune.deme@ucad.edu.sn
Senegal Valley, West Africa, History, Archaeology

Nicholas Diamond

Boston University
School of Public Health
njd15@bu.edu
Francophone Africa, Sexuality, Gender and Health

Moussa Dieng

Michigan State University
Department of Forestry
diengmou@msu.edu
Forestry, Geography

Maria Doubrovskaia

Columbia University
Slavic Literature
doubrovskaia@gmail.com
Senegal, Russia

Mamasa Dukureh

Columbia University
Middle Eastern, South Asian and African Studies
md3329@gmail.com
Cultural Studies, Education, Social Inequality, Gender and Race

To top