Members A-D

Membership > Individual Members > A-D

A

Tahar Abbou
University of Adrar
abboutahar@hotmail.com
West Africa, The Gold Coast and Algeria

Ofosuwa Mutashat Abiola

Howard University
History Department
ofosuwaabiola@aol.com
Pre-colonial Senegalese Cultural History, Africana Studies, Women’s History, History of African Dance

Nwando Achebe

Michigan State University
History Department 
achebe@msu.edu
West African History, Women, Gender, & Sexual History, Oral History

Aremu Olajire Adegoke

University of Ibadan
Department Pharmacy Chemistry
ao.adegoke@mail.ui.edu.ng
Pharmaceutical analysis and synthetic chemistry

Abimbola Adunni Adelakun

University of Texas-Austin
Performance as Public Practice
adunnibabe@yahoo.com
Performance, Pentecostalism, & religion

Saheed Aderinto

Western Carolina University
History Department
aderintosaheed@yahoo.co.uk
Gender, security, peace & conflict, expressive culture

Kayode Adewole

University of Ilorin
Department of Biochemistry
kayowolemi@yahoo.com
Biochemistry, toxicology, peptide science

Ama O. Aduonum

Illinois State University
College of Fine Arts
okadun@ilstu.edu
Music, dance, performance, Senegal, Ghana, African diaspora

Codjo Emile Agbangba

Universite d’Abomey-Calavi
Department Laboratoire d’Ecologie Appliquee
agbaemile@yahoo.fr
Benin, applied biostatistics, agroforestry and plant nutrition

Augustine Agwuele 

Texas State University
Anthropology Department
aa21@txstate.edu
West Africa, Linguistics, Anthropology

Jeffrey Ahlman 

Smith College
History Department
jahlman@smith.edu
Nationalism, Decolonization, Political Economy

Septime Akibode

Eurêka!
akibodeseptime@yahoo.fr

Gerard Akindes

Ohio University
Sports Administration- International Studies
akindesg@ohio.edu
Media, Sociology and Economics of Sport in Francophone Africa

Emmanuel Akyeampong

Harvard University
History Department
akyeamp@fas.harvard.edu
West African History, Comparative Slavery, Social and Cultural History

Abel Amado

Boston College
Political Science
adamado@bu.edu
Lusophone Africa, Cape Verde, Politics

Ousseina Alidou

Rutgers University
Department of English
Oalidou@rci.rutgers.edu
Linguistics, Literature

Assankpon H. Alime Agathe

Continental Magazine
assanline@gmail.com
Economic Development

Ndiaye Alphonse Raphael

Institution Leopold Sedar Senghor Foundation
senghorf@orange.sn
Ethnolinguistics

Samuel Anderson

University of California, Los Angeles
History Department
samuelanderson@ucla.edu
History of Maghrib, Sahara, Sahel, Algeria and Senegal

A. G. Ansong

George Mason University
Department of Urban Planning
gemfoowah@gmail.com
Sub Sahara Africa

Catherine Appert

Cornell University 
Department of Music
cma249@cornell.edu  
Indigenous Music and Hip Hop Music in Dakar, Senegal

Victor Ariole

University of Lagos
Department of European Languages
vicariole@gmail.com
Francophone African Studies, Translation, Linguistics

Mary Jo Arnoldi

Smithsonian Institution
Anthropology Department
arnoldim@si.edu
Art History, Cultural Anthropology

Idowu Ademola Atoloye

Obafemi Awolowo University
Department of Soil Science and Land Resources Management
iatoloye@oauife.edu.ng
Soil microbiology and Biochemistry, vermicomposting, Carbon and Nitrogen Transformations

Erin Joanna Augis

Ramapo College of New Jersey
Department of Sociology
eaugis@ramapo.edu
Gender, Religion

Kingsly Awang Ollong

University of Bamenda
Department of History
awangollong@yahoo.fr
Business History, Cameroon

To top

B

Tracy Bach

Vermont Law School
tbach@vermontlaw.edu
Environmental law, environmental health, climate change, rule of law, governance
Senegal, West Africa, Francophone Africa 

Abu Bah

Northern Illinois University
Department of Sociology
abah@niu.edu
Sociology, Political Science, History

Habibu Bappah

Ahmadu Bello University
Political Science, International Studies
habibyb@yahoo.com
West African Integration

Maimouna Barro

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
barro@illinois.edu
West Africa

Robert Baum

Dartmouth College
Department of Religion
religion@dartmouth.edu
Indigenous Religion, Anthropology, History, Religious studies

Dara Bayer

Boston Arts Academy
Humanities Department
darabayer1@gmail.com
Nigeria, Religions, Yoruba culture

Kevin Bean

Bridgewater State University
Geography Department
kbean@student.bridgew.edu
Guinea Bissau, Casamance,  Senegal

Yusuf Bello

Federal University Dursin-ma
Department of Mathematical Sciences and Information Technology
bystat10@gmail.com
Statistics

Sara Berry

Johns Hopkins University
History Department
sberry@jhu.edu
History, Political Economy, Anthropology

Catherine P. Bishop

University of Indiana
Anthropology and Geography Departments
cpbishop@indiana.edu
Political ecology, Technology transfer, development, material culture

Abhit Bhandari

Columbia University
Political Science Department
ab3901@columbia.edu
Political economy of development; contract enforcement; property rights; informal institutions

Peter Bloom

University of California – Santa Barbara
Department of Film and Media
pbloom@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu
Film and Media, Colonial History, Urban Architecture, Design, Political History

Karen Boatman

Boston University
kboats@bu.edu
Political Economy Department

Alice Bonou 

Universite Cheikh Anta Diop
FASEG
alice.bonou@gmail.com
Economics of Climate Change

Catherine Boone

University of Texas at Austin
Department of Government
cboone@mail.la.utexas.edu
Political Economy

Vincent A. Bouchard

Indiana University
Francophone Studies
vbouchard@indiana.edu
Media and cultural studies

Joseph Bradshaw

Michigan State University
History Department
bradsh41@msu.edu
Islam in Africa, Mali, Senegal, Mauritania

Lawrence Breitborde

Knox College
Anthropology & Sociology 
lbreitbo@knox.edu
Cultural and Linguistic Anthropology, Urban Studies

Fahamisha Patricia Brown

Metropolitan College of New York
Department of Urban Studies/ Human Services
fbrown@mcny.edu
Literature, Performance

Leif Brottem

University of Wisconsin- Madison
Geography Department
leifbrottem@gmail.com
Land tenure, resource governance, conservation, climate change, savanna

Devin Bryson

Illinois College
Modern Languages Department
devin.bryson@mail.ic.edu
French and Francophone Studies

Catherine Buerger

University of Connecticut
Anthropology Department
catherine.buerger@uconn.edu
Political and Legal Anthropology, Ghana

Beth Buggenhagen

Indiana University
Department of Anthropology
babuggen@indiana.edu
Circulation Value, Islam, Gender, Transnationalism

Henry Nii Nmai Bulley 

BMCC City University of New York 
Department of Social Science & Human Services
hnbulley1@gmail.com
Sustainable Development, Environmental Conservation, Land Use assessment, GIS, remote Sensing, water resources, Landscape ecology

Benjamin Burgen

University of Florida
Department of Anthropology/ African Studies
burgen@ufl.edu
Transnational migration, Social and Economic Change

Judith Byfield

Cornell University
Department of History
jab632@cornell.edu
Gender and Nigeria

To top

C

Nathan Carpenter

University of California – Davis
Department of History
nrcarpenter@ucdavis.edu
History

Rebecca Louise Carter 

Brown University
Department of Anthropology and Urban Studies
rebecca_carter@brown.edu
Cultural Anthropology, Urban Studies

Yuusuf S. Caruso

Columbia University
Columbia University Libraries, Global Studies
caruso@columbia.edu
Senegal, Mali, Ghana, Ethiopia, Kenya, Tanzania

Jani Cash

University at Albany, SUNY
Department of African Studies
jcash@albany.edu
Africana Studies/ History, US, West Africa

Susana Castillo Rodriguez

University of New Hampshire
Languages, Literatures, & Cultures Department
susucastillorodriguez@gmail.com
West Africa/ Equatorial Guinea, Anthropological Linguistics

Mbye Cham

Howard University
Department of African Studies
mcham@howard.edu
Literature and Film

Jau-Yon Chen

Howard University
African Studies Department
jauyon@gmail.com
African Studies

George Tucker Childs

Portland State University
Linguistics Department
childst@pdx.edu
West Africa, South Africa

Matthew Christensen

University of Texas, Pan American
Department of English
mchriste@utpa.edu
English, Comparative Literature, Sierra Leone, Nigeria

Gloria Chuku

University of Maryland Baltimore County
Africana Studies
chuku@umbc.edu
History, United States, Nigeria

Mamadou Cisse

Universite Cheikh Anta Diop
Department of Linguistics and Language Sciences
mamadoucisse@hotmail.com
Descriptive linguistics, African studies

Jonathan Cole

University of California – Berkeley
jjcole@berkeley.edu
History and Medical Anthropology

Youssoufou Congo

Center for Global Development
ycongo@hotmail.com
Economics, Microfinance

Barbara Cooper

Rutgers University
Department of History
barbara.cooper@rutgers.edu
West Africa, Gender, Islam

Matthew William Cooper

University of North Carolina- Chapel Hill
Department of Geography
mw.coop.r@gmail.com
Social-ecological systems, West Africa

Dee-Lisa Cothran

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga
Department of Psychology
lisa-cothran@utc.edu
Social and Personality Psychology

Brandon County

Columbia University
bc371@columbia.edu
History

Peter Reid Coutros

Yale University
Anthropology Department
peter.coutros@yale.edu
Archaeology, Mali, Senegal

Rebecca Cover

The Ohio State University 
Linguistics Department
rebecca@ling.osu.edu
Senegal, Guinea

Mackenzie Cramblit

Duke University
Anthropology Department
mackenzie.cramblit@duke.edu
Anthropology, Cameroon, Central & West Africa

Nijah Cunningham

Columbia University
English Department
nijah.cunningham@gmail.com
English, comparative literature, US, Senegal, Jamaica

Ashley Currier

University of Cincinnati
Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies
currieay@ucmail.uc.edu
Social movements, gender, Sexuality, nationalism

To top

D

Karima Daoudi

Independent Researcher
karima.daoudi@hotmail.com
Ethnomusicology, Anthropology

Mark Davidheiser

Nova Southeastern University
Department of Conflict Analysis & Resolution
mdavidhe@yahoo.com
Socio-cultural Anthropology, African Studies, Peace and Conflict Studies, Mande Studies,
Conflict Analysis and Resolution, Political Science, Sociology, History

Ebonee Davis

Morgan State University
Department of Museum Studies and Historical Preservation
eboneedavis@hotmail.com
Public History and Archives

Justine Davis

University of California, Berkeley
Political Science Department
justine.davis@berkeley.edu
Conflict, Violence, Democratization, Political Participation, Social movements, Voting Behavior, Youth

Meghan Davis

University of London
School of Oriental and African Studies
mkd6189@gmail.com
Horn of Africa, West Africa

Keita Decarlo

Boston University
decarlo@bu.edu
Environmental Science, African Studies

Nathaniel Dede-Bamfo

Texas State University-San Marcos
Geography Department
nd1115@txstate.edu
Geography, Ghana

Adrian Deese

Cornell University
Department of History
amd335@cornell.edu
West African History (Nigeria, Ghana, Benin)

Julia Lynn DeFabo

Bard College
Africana Studies, Anthropology, & French Depts.
jd7345@bard.edu
West African Art, Senegal

Alioune Deme

Universite Cheikh Anta Diop
History Department
alioune.deme@ucad.edu.sn
Senegal Valley, West Africa, History, Archaeology

Moussa Dieng

Michigan State University
Department of Forestry
diengmou@msu.edu
Forestry, Geography

 

Maria Doubrovskaia

Columbia University
Slavic Literature
doubrovskaia@gmail.com
Senegal, Russia

Ana Maria Duque

Boston University
aduque@bu.edu
African Studies, Womens Studies

To top