First Gen Student Spotlight – May 2017

Kamila Foremny

Hometown: Staten Island, NY

School/College: Questrom School of Business

Major: Business Administration and Management

Class Year: 2019

Clubs / Organizations: Dean’s Fellowship for Social Impact
Community Service Center (FYSOP Staff Leader, Alternative Service Breaks, Student Food Rescue)
Research Assistant
Admissions Ambassador

The best book I’ve read recently that wasn’t assigned for class is:

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

Favorite restaurant in Boston:

Jugos

Best place to study on campus:

Any floor in 100 BSR!

Being a first generation college student means that you can bring a unique perspective to BU. Tell us about your experience and what being first gen means to you:

As a first gen student, I am proud to attend a university like BU. At BU, I am presented with unique opportunities that my parents never had. I try to take advantage of these fantastic opportunities because I know that they will have a huge impact on me and can shape me as an individual. I think that I have made BU my own and I know that my success is a reflection of the hard work and unwavering support of my parents.

When I graduate, I hope to:

I hope to have a job in either Boston or NYC that challenges me to use my education to create a positive social impact and be successful.

My favorite BU class has been:

OB221: The Dynamics of Leading Organizations (Organizational Behavior)

What do you like best about BU?

Definitely the people! At BU, I’m surrounded by a community filled with intelligent, empathic, and motivated people. Both students and professors share a passion and genuine interest in using their education to help better our world. In addition to sharing classes with bright students, I have received an incredible amount of support from professors and career advisors. Their support encourages me to work towards getting the most out of my four years at BU.