BU Today

Campus Life

Committed students sought for Scarlet Key Society

Nominations from faculty, staff due February 24

Brian Sirman (CAS'02), the residence hall director at 10 Buick St., was inducted into the Scarlet Key Society in 2002.

As an undergraduate, Brian Sirman never stopped to think about all the commitments he had made to various offices and organizations around campus. He didn’t have the time.

Sirman (CAS’02), now the residence hall director at 10 Buick St., was a resident advisor, a freshman resource advisor for the Educational Resource Center, a student advisor within the orientation committee, a senator in the Student Union, vice chair of the Student Union Elections Commission, and president of the Shelton Hall Residence Hall Association, the Mock Trial Organization, and the Art History Association.

Sirman says he was simply pursuing his interests and participating in activities he enjoyed — so when he became one of 19 students inducted into the Scarlet Key Society in 2002, a recognition for exemplary leadership among undergraduates, he says that it was “quite an honor.”

“To think that out of the entire class, you were being recognized as one of the leaders — it was a fitting thank-you,” he says.

The Office of the Dean of Students is now seeking nominations for this year’s Scarlet Key inductees, and Michael Pereira, assistant to the dean of students, is encouraging faculty and staff to get involved in the process and nominate deserving students. “We want to go out into the community and find people who may not necessarily have heard of this,” he says.

Nominees are judged in five areas: leadership, commitment, representation, tradition, and academics. “It’s the whole package,” Pereira says. “Students who have not only excelled in academics, but have held leadership positions at the University and helped their organization grow. It’s about ways they’ve brought honor, not only to themselves, but to the University as a whole.”

The selection committee also chooses one faculty or staff member for honorary induction into the society. Past recipients of the honorary award include President Emeritus Aram Chobanian, SMG Assistant Dean Sandra Procopio, and Residence Life Director David Zamojski.

Nomination forms are due February 24 and can be picked up at the Dean of Students Office.