Specific approvals must be obtained when sending a Broadcast Message to constituent groups, as outlined below. When requesting an approval please include a “cc” to specmail@bu.edu. The approver can then reply to include specmail@bu.edu and it will go directly into the Broadcast Message System.

Target Constituency Requires written approval from
University-wide
Students or faculty Provost (B) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Staff President (A) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Faculty, staff, and students President (A) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Medical Campus-wide
Faculty and/or staff and/or students Medical Campus Provost (C) or Director of Communications (G)
College-wide
Faculty or staff or students in a single college Dean of College
Faculty or students in two or more colleges
Charles River Campus Deans of each targeted college or Charles River Campus Provost (B)
Medical Campus Deans of each targeted college or Medical Campus Provost (C)
Staff in two or more colleges
Charles River Campus Deans of each targeted college or President (A)
Medical Campus Medical Campus Provost (C) or Director of Communications (G)
Other
Alumni Requests should be directed through school/college DAR officers.  All other approval requests: VP for Development & Alumni Relations (E) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Parents of current BU students VP for Enrollment & Student Affairs (F) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Parents of former BU students VP for Development & Alumni Relations (E) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Prospective BU students or their parents VP for Enrollment & Student Affairs (F) and SVP for External Affairs (D)
Approval Contacts
A President’s Office: Douglas A. Sears, dsears@bu.edu, 358-1360, and “cc” specmail@bu.edu
B Provost’s Office (Charles River Campus): Julie Sandell, jsandell@bu.edu, 353-5846 and “cc” specmail@bu.edu. When a University-wide constituency is involved, also “cc” the Medical Campus Provost (C).
C Medical Campus Provost: Karen H. Antman, kha4@bu.edu, 638-5300 and “cc” specmail@bu.edu
D SVP for External Affairs: Stephen Burgay, burgay@bu.edu, 353-1168 and
“cc” both Amy Hook, amyhook@bu.edu, 353-2399, and specmail@bu.edu
E Alumni Relations: Steven Hall, sahall@bu.edu, and “cc” both Kristy Kime, kkime@bu.edu, and
specmail@bu.edu
F Vice President for Enrollment and Student Affairs: Laurie Pohl, lpohl@bu.edu, 353-9814 and “cc” specmail@bu.edu
G Office of Communications: Maria Pantages Ober, mpober@bu.edu, 638-8496 and “cc” Lisa Brown, brownl@bu.edu, 638-8494 and specmail@bu.edu