2009 BU Science and Engineering Research Symposium

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Congratulations to CISE First Prize winner Erhan Ermis.

Erhan is a candidate for Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering, and presented his work “Multicamera Fusion for Uncalibrated Cameras.”  His advisor is Professor Venkatesh Saligrama.  Erhan will receive $500 and an additional $500 will be awarded to Professor Saligrama’s lab.  Erhan will also be attending a special Provost’s luncheon with other award winners.

CISE also awarded three $100 Honorable Mention awards to CISE students Peter Chang, Huseyin Mutlu and Weiyao Xiao. Peter Chang, a Mechanical Engineering Ph.D. candidate advised by Professor Sean Andersson, won his award for his poster “Single Tracking Using an AFM.” Both Huseyin and Weiyao are pursuing Ph.D.’s in Electrical and Computer Engineering under Professor David Starobinski. Huseyin received his Honorable Mention for his work “Spot Pricing of Secondary Spectrum Access in Wireless Cellular Networks” while Weiyao won an Honorable Mention for “Extreme Value FEC for Wireless Data Broadcasting.” Congratulations again to all CISE award winners.

The Honorable Mentions were awarded at the April 10 CISE Wine and Cheese Social.

Entries were judged on scientific or engineering innovation, relevance, promise of future impact, societal implications, and the exhibitor’s presentation. All students whose advisors are CISE affiliated were considered for the CISE awards.

The 2009 CISE judges were:

  • Sean Andersson, Assistant Professor, Mechanical Engineering
  • Prakash Ishwar, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Abraham Matta, Associate Professor, Computer Science
  • Venkatesh Saligrama, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Les Servi, Ph.D., The MITRE Corporation

2009 CISE Award Participants

2009 BU Science and Engineering Research Symposium Official Website