Student Awards

The Department of Biostatistics holds an annual Student Paper Competition for MA/PhD Biostatistics program students, and the Herbert Kayne Prize for the most outstanding MPH student in Biostatistics.

Herb Kayne Prize

The Department of Biostatistics awards an annual prize to a graduating MPH student who has demonstrated excellent performance in the Biostatistics concentration. Since 1999, this prize is an expression of our gratitude to Herb Kayne, PhD, for his commitment to teaching epidemiology and biostatistics at BUSPH and his long-enduring interest and dedication to his students in the MPH Program.

Previous Herb Kayne Award Recipients

2017 — Rachel Parker
2016 — Elizabeth Showalter
2015 — Olga Karlinskaya
2014 — Robert Tucker
2013 — Molly Higgins-Biddle
2012 — Meghan Perkins
2011 — Anahita Ghorbani
2010 — Cheryl Raffo
2009 — Sandy Askew
2008 — Kristi Prather
2007 — Jotsna Kumar
2006 — Elizabeth Wood2005 — Catherine Jean Williams
2004 — Osasumwen Osayimwen
2003 — Carrie Reed
2002 — Kathryn McBride
2001 — Elizabeth Traphagen
2000 — Debbie Barrington
1999 — Mary-Lynn Fulton

Student Paper Competition

Now accepting submissions! Please click here for details.

Submission Deadline: December 15, 2017 at noon


Awards announced: January 19, 2018

The Department of Biostatistics at BUSPH has established a prize for best student paper. The annual competition is open to all students enrolled in a┬áBiostatistics program at Boston University. Papers which have been accepted by a journal are not eligible for the competition; however papers which have been submitted to a journal but which have not yet been accepted are eligible. The winner of the competition will receive a travel award to attend ENAR or the summer Joint Statistical Meetings. Winner’s travel expenses to other conferences (e.g., Society for Clinical Trials) may be covered after consulting with the award committee.

Previous Student Paper Competition Winners

2017 — Jeremiah Perez
2016 — Avery McIntosh
2015 — Paula Griffin
2014 — Joseph Wu
2013 — Stephanie Lustgarten
2012 — Chen Lu
2011 — Gina Peloso
2010 — Xiaopeng Miao