Current Graduate Students

image

Elyas Bakhtiari

Elyas Bakhtiari

Elyas Bakhtiari

Elyas Bakhtiari

Ph.D Candidate

National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellow
elyas@bu.edu

Research interests include medical sociology, race and ethnicity, social determinants of health, and immigration.

Cara Bowman

Cara Bowman

Cara Bowman

Cara Bowman

Ph.D Candidate

bowmanc@bu.edu

Research interests include social class and inequality, consumption, economic sociology, family sociology, and cultural sociology.

Taylor Cain

TaylorTaylor Cain

Ph.D Candidate

tcain@bu.edu

Her undergraduate focus on gender, sexuality, and the social construction of illness has evolved into an interest in understanding and addressing health disparities within urban communities.

Daryl Carr

Black and White with BookDaryl Carr

Ph.D Candidate

dtcarr@bu.edu

His research focuses on national identity, state formation, and citizenship laws in Jordan, Syria, and Lebanon.

Pamela Devan

Pamela Devan BU picturePamela Devan

Ph.D Candidate

pmdevan@bu.edu

Her current research interests are in the fields of gender, sexuality and race/ethnicity, from a perspective of social identity and everyday life.

Holly Donovan

Holly Donovan

Holly Donovan

Holly Donovan

Ph.D Candidate

hdonovan@bu.edu

Holly’s research interests are in sexuality, gender, and cultural sociology.

Claire Duggan

Claire Duggan

Ph.D Candidate

duggancl@bu.edu

Claire is interested in international migration, as well as education and urban studies.

Zophia Edwards

Zophia Edwards

Zophia Edwards

Zophia Edwards

Ph.D Candidate

zedwards@bu.edu

Her research interests include globalization and development, political sociology, and comparative-historical sociology.

Rachel Everley

Rachel Everley

Rachel Everley

Rachel Everley

Ph.D Candidate

everleyr@bu.edu

Research interests include gender, sexuality, culture, stratification, and economic sociology.

Rebecca Farber

RFarberPicRebecca Farber

Ph.D Candidate

National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellow

rfarber@bu.edu

Research focuses on the changing roles of male to female transgender persons (kathoey) in Thailand.

Connor Fitzmaurice

Connor FitzmauriceConnor Fitzmaurice

Ph.D Candidate

fitzmauc@bu.edu

His research interests center on the ways in which economic structures shape culture and constrain agency.

Don Gillis

Don Gillis

Don Gillis

Don Gillis

Ph.D Candidate

dgillis@bu.edu

His research interests include urban sociology, labor markets, politics, non-profits and education.

Sarah Hosman

Sarah HosmanSarah Hosman

Ph.D Candidate

sshosman@bu.edu

Research interests include sociology of culture, subcultures, sociology of music, identity, and religion.

Christina Jarymowycz

ChristinaChristina Jarymowycz

Ph.D Candidate

coj@bu.edu

Research interests include economic sociology, immigration, and gender, particularly in the context of Eastern Europe.

Alaz Kilicaslan

Alaz Kilicaslan

Ph.D Candidate

alazk@bu.edu

His research interests include sociology of health and medicine, social theory, sociology of professions and science & technology studies.

Mustapha Kurfi

Mustapha KurfiMustapha Kurfi

Ph.D Candidate

mustapha@bu.edu

His research interests include: ethnography, inequality, environment, family and community, social change, religious and Non-profit organizations.

Adrienne Lemon

Adrienne Lemon

Adrienne Lemon

Adrienne Lemon

Ph.D Candidate

amlemon@bu.edu

Her current research interests include social movements and development, specifically in the context of post-civil war societies.

David Levy

David Levy

David Levy

David Levy

Ph.D Candidate

klight@bu.edu

He is interested in the relationship between political and economic systems and the cultural worlds in which they operate, particularly with regard to the post-Soviet space.

Katie Light

Katie Light

Ph.D Candidate

dplevy@bu.edu

Research interests include religion and organizations.

Megan O'Leary

Megan O'LearyMegan O’Leary

Ph.D Candidate

meoleary@bu.edu

Her fields of interest include international migration, globalization, family, race, and caregiving.

Emily Philipp

1003160_10151711530323898_1895698338_nEmily Philipp

Ph.D Candidate

ephilipp@bu.edu

Emily is interested in the phenomenon of “voluntourism” and seeks to understand the role of volunteer tourist organizations in framing the process of development, volunteer tourists’ purposes and roles, and the complex historical legacies and structural inequalities which volunteer tourists encounter.

Rachelle Reinhart

Rachelle Reinhart

Ph.D Candidate

rrboyle@bu.edu

Her research interests are in sociology of religion, community, and organizations; and historical sociology.

Martin Rowe

Martin Rowe

Martin Rowe

Martin Rowe

Ph.D Candidate

mtrowe@bu.edu

His research focuses on the interrelation of political and religious discourse in Egypt, continuities in discourse before and after the social uprisings of 2011-2013, and discursive constraints upon political parties and social movements.

Jack St. Hilaire

Jack St. Hilaire

Ph.D Candidate

bupd307@bu.edu

His interests include community sociology, work and occupations, organizations, and social theory.

Meaghan Stiman

MeaghanMeaghan Stiman

Ph.D Candidate

mstiman@bu.edu

Her teaching and research interests include urban and community sociology, tourism, culture, gentrification, and gender and sexuality.

Justin Stoll

Justin Stoll 2013Justin Stoll

Ph.D Candidate

stollj@bu.edu

His research focuses on the dissemination of organizational models and logics through transnational social activism, particularly in the case of global health and the movement for health as a human right.

Meghan Tinsley

Meghan Tinsley

Meghan Tinsley

Meghan Tinsley

Ph.D Candidate

tinsleym@bu.edu

Meghan’s areas of interest include race and ethnicity, political sociology and nationalism, and collective memory.

Elina Tochilnikova

Elina Tochilnikova

Ph.D Candidate

elina@bu.edu

Her research combines a historical comparative sociological perspective with psychopathology inquiry, with the goal of advancing knowledge about the societal roots of mental illness and insincere political activism.

Natalicia R. Tracy

Maria Natalicia Rocha-Tracy

Maria Natalicia Rocha-Tracy

Natalicia R. Tracy

Ph.D Candidate

mrtracy@bu.edu

Her research interests include issues of immigration, transnationalism, education, and race, including related policy questions.

Kristi Trevino

Kristi Trevino

Ph.D Candidate

kdt@bu.edu

Research interests include globalization, economic sociology and the sociology of the family.

Alexandre White


photo

Alexandre White

Ph.D Candidate

awhite12@bu.edu

Current work focuses on critical race and post-colonial theory as well as the sociology of medicine, in an effort to critically assess the concepts of biopower and necropower within existing state systems.

Heide Woelfel

Heide Woelfel

Ph.D Candidate

hwoelfel@bu.edu

Research interests include immigration, transnationalism, and forced migration.