Current Graduate Students

010

 

Ladin Bayurgil

Ladin Bayurgil

Ladin Bayurgil

Ph.D Candidate

ladinb@bu.edu

Research interests include urban sociology, gentrification, social stratification, urban informality, and actor-network theory.

 

Erik Berrelleza

Ph.D. Candidate

ebsj@bu.edu

Erick’s research interests lie primarily in the sociology of religion and urban sociology. His current work focuses on lived religion and place.

 
Emily Bryant

Emily Bryant

Emily Bryant

Ph.D Candidate

eabryant@bu.edu

Emily’s research interests include economic sociology, globalization and development, organizations, and the nonprofit sector.

Taylor Cain

Taylor Cain

Taylor Cain

Ph.D Candidate

tcain@bu.edu

Taylor’s research interests include urban, cultural and economic sociology. Her current project explores public/private efforts for commercial revitalization and considers the processes that shape how value is determined for commercial districts in two Boston neighborhoods.

 

Pamela Devan

Pamela Devan

Pamela Devan

 Ph.D Candidate

pmdevan@bu.edu

Her current research interests are in the fields of gender, sexuality and race/ethnicity, from a perspective of social identity and everyday life.

Rachel Everley

Rachel Everley

Rachel Everley

Ph.D Candidate

everleyr@bu.edu

Research interests include gender, sexuality, culture, stratification, and economic sociology.

Rebecca Farber

Ph.D Candidate

National Science Foundation (NSF)
Graduate Research Fellow

rfarber@bu.edu

Research focuses on the changing roles of male to female transgender persons (kathoey) in Thailand.

Fitzmaurice Headshot Photo 2015

Connor Fitzmaurice

 

Connor Fitzmaurice

Ph.D Candidate

fitzmauc@bu.edu

Connor’s research focuses on the ways economic processes and cultural values intersect in contemporary practices of food production and consumption.

Erin Freeman

Erin Freeman

Erin Freeman

Ph.D Candidate

emayr@bu.edu

Erin’s research interests center on Central American immigration. She specializes in transnational family separation and ethnic identity among second and third generation immigrants.

 

015

Kelsey Harris

Kelsey Harris

Ph.D Candidate

kchx3@bu.edu

Kelsey’s areas of interest lie in race/ethnicity and education.

 

 

 

Sarah Hosman

Sarah Hosman

Sarah Hosman

Ph.D Candidate

sshosman@bu.edu

Sarah’s interests are, broadly, urban and economic sociology. Sarah’s dissertation examines the Boston neighborhood of Allston, specifically looking at how cultural and narrative frameworks, rooted in neighborhood history, shape current neighborhood practices, and in so doing, reinforce neighborhood stratification.

 

Christina Jarymowycz

Christina Jarymowycz

Christina Jarymowycz

 Ph.D Candidate

coj@bu.edu

Research interests include economic sociology, immigration, and gender, particularly in the context of Eastern Europe.

Benjamin Joseph Nobile Kampler

Benjamin Joseph Nobile Kampler

Benjamin Joseph Nobile Kampler

 Ph.D Candidate

benjnk@bu.edu

Research interests lie primarily in the study and theory of gender and sexuality with a bit of medical tinge; he is primarily interested in neoliberal state regulation of gender and sexuality in urban settings.

Alaz Kilicaslan

Alaz Kilicaslan

Alaz Kilicaslan

Ph.D Candidate

alazk@bu.edu

His research interests include sociology of health and medicine, social theory, sociology of professions and science & technology studies.

 

Mustapha Kurfi

Mustapha Kurfi

Mustapha Kurfi

Ph.D Candidate

mustapha@bu.edu

His research interests include: ethnography, inequality, environment, family and community, social change, religious and Non-profit organizations.

 

Adrienne Lemon

Adrienne Lemon

Adrienne Lemon

Ph.D Candidate

amlemon@bu.edu

Her current research interests include social movements and development, specifically in the context of post-civil war societies.

David Levy

David Levy

 

David Levy

Ph.D Candidate

dplevy@bu.edu

David examines why emerging democracies treat benign forms of pluralism, particularly religious pluralism, as a threat to national sovereignty and stability. His research shows how public policy in the post-Soviet context can be used to exclude dissident attitudes from political processes. His fields of interest include comparative politics, sociology of religion, nationalism, civil society, development and theory.

Katie Light

Ph.D Candidate

klight@bu.edu

Research interests include religion and organizations.

Siyan Meng

M.A. Candidate

siyanm@bu.edu

Research interests include medical sociology, organization and culture.

Heather Mooney

Ph.D. Candidate

hmooney@bu.edu

Heather is interested in the interrelationship between gender, race, reproduction, sexuality, nation, and neoliberalism, specifically at the intersections of traditionally domestic labor and the public sector. She is also interested in affect, migration and border politics, science and technology, consumption and intangible commodities, as well as sociological, critical race, and feminist theories.

 

 

 

 

18064_270024472683_308646_n

Gokhan Mulayim

Gokhan Mulayim

Ph.D. Candidate

gokhan@bu.edu

His research interests include economic sociology, sociology of translation and commensuration, sociology of cultural production and political sociology.

 

 

RSmith4

Rachelle Reinhart

 

Rachelle Reinhart

Ph.D Candidate

rrboyle@bu.edu

Her research interests are in sociology of religion, community, and organizations; and historical sociology.

Carmen Rowe

Carmen Rowe

Carmen Rowe

Ph.D Candidate

crowe@bu.edu

Her research interests include gender, sexuality, race and ethnicity, intersectionality, online new media, environmental sociology, cultural sociology, economic sociology, food systems, and qualitative methods.

ROWE2 2

Martin Rowe

Martin Rowe

Ph.D Candidate

mtrowe@bu.edu

His research focuses on the interrelation of political and religious discourse in Egypt, continuities in discourse before and after the social uprisings of 2011-2013, and discursive constraints upon political parties and social movements.

Meaghan Stiman

Meaghan Stiman

Meaghan Stiman

Ph.D Candidate

mstiman@bu.edu

Her teaching and research interests include urban and community sociology, tourism, culture, gentrification, and gender and sexuality.

Meghan Tinsley

Meghan Tinsley

Meghan Tinsley

Ph.D Candidate

tinsleym@bu.edu

Meghan’s areas of interest include race and ethnicity, political sociology and nationalism, and collective memory.

 

 

Elina Tochilnikova

Elina Tochilnikova


Elina Tochilnikova

Ph.D Candidate

elina@bu.edu

Her research combines a historical comparative sociological perspective with psychopathology inquiry, with the goal of advancing knowledge about the societal roots of mental illness and insincere political activism.

 

Patricia Ward

Patricia Ward

Patricia Ward

Ph.D Candidate

psward@bu.edu

Trish’s research interests include knowledge production processes related to migration and so-called “migration management,” particularly within the Middle East context.

 

 

 

Jake Watson

Ph.D Candidate

jtwatson@bu.edu

Jake’s broad research interests concern the political economy of migration and citizenship and attached crises in social and political organization.

Wen Wei

Wen Wei

Wen Wei

M.A. Candidate

amyww@bu.edu

Wen’s areas of interest include race and ethnicity, political sociology and nationalism.

 

Alexandre White

Alexandre White

Alexandre White

Ph.D Candidate

awhite12@bu.edu

Current work focuses on critical race and post-colonial theory as well as the sociology of medicine, in an effort to critically assess the concepts of biopower and necropower within existing state systems.