Whitney R. Powers Award for Teaching Excellence

About the Award

The Sargent College Faculty Council invites students, alumni, and faculty to nominate current full-time or part-time Sargent faculty for consideration for the Whitney R. Powers Award for Teaching Excellence.

This award recognizes an outstanding teacher from the Sargent faculty and is named in honor of Whitney R. Powers, professor emeritus of BU Sargent College, who for more than 25 years shared his gifts as an outstanding teacher.

To nominate a faculty member, please fill out and submit the electronic form below, describing how this nominee embodies teaching excellence. 

Nominations will be accepted from November 3 – March 31.

Recent Recipients

Several outstanding faculty have been recognized in recent years and are not currently eligible for this award:

  • Ken Holt, Department of Physical Therapy & Athletic Training (2012-13)
  • Karole Howland, Department of Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences (2010-2011)
  • Ellen Cohn, Department of Occupational Therapy (2009-2010)

Nomination Form