Two SMG Student Athletes Honored

in News, Students, Undergraduate Students
April 25th, 2013

Two SMG seniors, Josh Friedman of the men’s tennis team and Jessica Morrow of the women’s soccer team, were among the 10 student-athletes honored at the annual BU student-athlete reception on Monday, April 22. Jessica received the E. Ray Speare and Gretchen Schyler award, given yearly to the top male and female scholar-athletes. Josh was a recipient of the John B. Simpson Award, given both to a male and female senior who has demonstrated enthusiasm and leadership.

From BU Athletics:

Jessica Morrow concluded her career as a NSCAA Third-Team All-America honoree after claiming America East Defender of the Year honors. She posted a standout season in which she anchored BU’s defense that allowed just four goals in eight conference games to lead the league with a 0.49 goals-against average and help the Terriers to a perfect 8-0 league record and their sixth straight America East regular-season title. In addition to being BU’s leader on defense, the co-captain tied for the team lead with five assists on the season, which ranked fourth in the conference. The two-time member of the America East All-Academic team owns a 3.80 GPA as a business administration major which earned her NSCAA First Team Scholar All-America accolades.

A selfless, tireless and vocal leader both on and off the court, Josh Friedman was named the men’s tennis team MVP the last three seasons. He is a two-time all-conference honoree and an America East Commissioner’s Honor Roll member. As a sophomore, he moved to the No. 1 singles position and helped the Terriers win 10 matches, a feat not accomplished since 2007. The highlight of his junior season occurred when he defeated No. 60 Harvard’s two-time All-Ivy League First Team member, Jon Pearlman. This year competing at the top singles and doubles slots, he led the Terriers to their first winning season in six years and 7-0 sweeps against five opponents.

Pictured honorees, from left: Josh Friedman (SMG’13), Jessica Morrow (SMG’13), Mo Moran (CAS’13), Chantell Alford (CGS’11, MET’13), Ryan Ruikka (CAS’12, GRS’12, MET’13), Tina Hoppe (SHA’13), and Nestor Taffur (MET’14). Photo by Steve McLaughlin via BU Today.