EDRT Presents Gislason Award to Marshall Goldsmith

in News
November 27th, 2012

Noted Executive Coach and Author/Editor of 32 Business Books

Each year, the School of Management’s Executive Development Roundtable (EDRT) singles out an individual for the excellence of his or her work in advancing the state of knowledge or the state of the art of practice in executive development.

On October 3, the EDRT presented the 2012 Marion F. Gislason award to Marshall Goldsmith, executive advisor at the Marshall Goldsmith Group, and author or editor of 32 books, including the New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestsellers, MOJO and What Got You Here Wont Get You There. Associate Professor of Organizational Behavior Jack McCarthy, director of the EDRT and host of the award ceremony, said, “Recipients also possess those qualities of humility, generosity, and concern for others that were valued and modeled by Marion Gislason, for whom the award is named. Mr. Goldsmith is a wonderful example of those criteria.”

Goldsmith is one of the world’s preeminent executive coaches, and his work has been recognized by almost every professional organization in his field. His professional acknowledgments include Institute for Management Studies Lifetime Achievement Award (one of only two ever awarded), American Management Association 50 great thinkers and leaders who have influenced the field of management over the past 80 years, Bloomberg Businessweeks 50 great leaders in America, Wall Street Journal‘s top ten executive educators, Forbes‘ five most-respected executive coaches, Leadership Excellence‘s top ten thinkers on leadership, and other prestigious awards.

The Marion Gislason Award was established at Boston University by Marion’s husband, Marne Obernauer, and her family, friends, and colleagues in memory of Gislason, her passion for human development, and her instrumental role in the creation and success of the EDRT.

Professor of Organizational Behavior Tim Hall, the Morton H. and Charlotte Friedman Professor in Management, and friends and family members Vicki Brooks, Julie Johnson, Jim Gislason, and Marne Obernauer shared their fond memories of Marion Gislason, who was known as Marni. Ken Freeman, Allen Questrom Professor and Dean of the School of Management, presented the award to Goldsmith.

Pictured above is recipient Marshall Goldsmith at the October 3 award ceremony.