Iain Cockburn Is Named Richard C. Shipley Professor of Management

in School, Strategy & Innovation
October 21st, 2011

Iain M. Cockburn

Iain M. Cockburn

Boston University School of Management is delighted to announce that Iain M. Cockburn, Professor of Strategy & Innovation, has been named the Richard C. Shipley Professor of Management.

The chair’s donor, Richard C. Shipley (BSBA ’68, MBA ’72) is the retired CEO of Shipley Company in Westborough, Massachusetts, and serves on the Boston University Board of Trustees.

Professor Cockburn joined the School of Management in September 1999.  He received his Ph.D. and A.M. in Economics from Harvard University and B.Sc. in Economics from Queen Mary College of the University of London.  Professor Cockburn is a major contributor to the School’s research, teaching and programmatic efforts.  He is the author of more than fifty book chapters and articles in prestigious management journals, including the American Economic Review and Management Science.   In addition, he has delivered more than two hundred scholarly presentations of his research.  Professor Cockburn serves as Research Director for the School’s Institute for Technology Entrepreneurship and Commercialization. He was previously  a member of the School of Management’s APT Committee and a representative to the Boston University Faculty Council from 2007 to 2009.

Professor Cockburn’s scholarship has garnered him such recognition as the Everett W. Lord Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award (2004 – 2011) and an appointment as Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research.  He has received more than twenty research grants, including three National Science Foundation grants.  His honors also encompass the Dan and Mary Lou Schendel Best Paper Prize 2010 from the Strategic Management Journal, the University of British Columbia Faculty of Commerce Research Excellence Award, the Alfred P. Sloan Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship, and the School of Management’s MBA Second Year – Teacher of the Year award.

See more faculty honors news at the School of Management