Howard Eichenbaum Named William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor

Published: September 18th, 2015

Howard Eichenbaum has been named William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor. The Warren Professorship is the highest recognition that the University bestows on any faculty member.

Jean Berko Gleason to Deliver “Welcome Welcome” and “Goodbye Goodbye” Addresses at 2015 Ig Nobel Awards

Published: September 15th, 2015

Professor Emerita Jean Berko Gleason will deliver the “Welcome Welcome” and “Goodbye Goodbye” Addresses at the 25th First Annual Ig® Nobel Prize ceremony on September 17 at Harvard University, honoring improbable research that makes us laugh, then think. A live webcast will be provided beginning at 5:40PM on September 17.

Welcoming New Faculty

Published: August 31st, 2015

Join me in welcoming Joe McGuire as Assistant Professor to the Department. Joe arrived in Boston in July and is busy setting up his new lab at 677 Beacon Street, and will be teaching Human Brain Mapping this Fall.

Join me also in welcoming Dr. Erika Wells as full time Lecturer. Dr. Wells’ appointment begins September 1st and her office is located at 64 Cummington Mall.

Welcome, Joe and Erika!

– David Somers, Department Chair

Sam Ling Awarded Career Development Professorship

Published: August 31st, 2015

Congratulations to Professor Sam Ling, who has been chosen for the prestigious Peter Paul Career Development Professorship at Boston University.

Michael Hasselmo Wins 2015 International Neural Network Society Award

Published: August 28th, 2015

Congratulations to Professor Michael Hasselmo, who was presented with the Hebb Award by the International Neural Network Society in July. Congratulations, Mike!

Fall 2015 Colloquia Schedules

Published: August 26th, 2015

Fall 2015 colloquia schedules for the Brain, Behavior and Cognition program, Clinical program, Developmental Science program, Center for Systems Neuroscience, and Center for Memory and Brain are now available

Professor Howard Eichenbaum Elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences

Published: April 23rd, 2015

Howard Eichenbaum, Director of the Center for Memory and Brain and a University Professor, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The Department of Psychological & Brain Sciences is pleased to congratulate him on this great honor. From the Academy’s press release:

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. | April 22, 2015 – The American Academy of Arts and Sciences today announced the election of 197 new members. They include some of the world’s most accomplished scholars, scientists, writers, artists, and civic, business, and philanthropic leaders.

The list of the new members is located at

One of the nation’s most prestigious honorary societies, the American Academy is also a leading center for independent policy research. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science and technology policy, global security and international affairs, social policy and American institutions, and the humanities, arts, and education.

For the complete list of new inductees, see the American Academy of Arts & Sciences press release.

Professor David Barlow Receives Honorary Degree from the University of Vermont

Published: April 21st, 2015

Professor David Barlow is a 2015 recipient of an honorary degree of Doctor of Science from the University of Vermont. We are very pleased to congratulate Dr. Barlow for this well-deserved honor. From the UVM announcement:

David H. Barlow, UVM Class of 1969, is one of the most influential clinical psychologists of our time with an international reputation for his development of treatments for anxiety and related disorders. He has long had strong ties to the University of Vermont and completed his doctorate at UVM in 1969. Highly regarded as a leading spokesperson for the field of clinical psychology and a renowned researcher in anxiety, he is currently Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry and Founder and Director Emeritus of the Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders at Boston University. He was previously Distinguished Professor in the Department of Psychology and Director of the Phobia and Anxiety Disorders Clinic at the University at Albany, State University of New York. He has published over 600 peer reviewed research articles and over 75 books and clinical manuals, in the areas of anxiety and related emotional disorders and clinical research methodology. His books have been translated in over 20 languages, including Arabic, Chinese, Hindi, and Russian. His research has changed the understanding of anxiety, panic, and related emotional disorders and made major contributions to the development of treatments for these problems.

Kayla Finch Receives National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship

Published: April 8th, 2015

Kayla Finch, a doctoral graduate student working in the Center for Autism Research Excellence, has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship for her project, “See that I’m saying: Investigating the neural and cognitive mechanisms underlying audiovisual speech integration in preschoolers.”

The project investigates individual variation in preschoolers’ ability to integrate audiovisual cues using a McGurk paradigm, relating their ability to integrate to auditory event-related potential components and to attention to the visual cue (the speaker’s mouth). The main hypothesis is that children who attend less to the mouth and have weaker ERPs will have poorer pre-reading skills.

Chloe Jordan Receives Stephen G. Holtzman Award

Published: April 6th, 2015

Chloe Jordan will be receiving the Stephen G. Holtzman Award for Preclinical Investigators from the College on Problems of Drug Dependence at its June 2015 meeting.

This award was established by family and friends of Dr. Holtzman to honor his memory in tribute to his long-time service and dedication to the College on Problems of Drug Dependence. This award will be given annually or biannually to either a predoctoral student or postdoctoral trainee involved in preclinical research related to drug abuse and dependence.