Boston University Office of the Provost

Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

TO: Boston University Faculty

FROM: Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

DATE: October 3, 2018

SUBJECT: Announcement of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the BU

College of Communication

As we begin the process of selecting the next Dean of the College of Communication, the first step is to constitute the Search Advisory Committee. The <u>BU Faculty Handbook</u> specifies that: "the advisory committee shall consist of three faculty members elected by the faculty of the School for which a dean is to be selected, two faculty members elected by the Faculty Council from other Schools, and as many as three members designated by the provost." In addition, the provost appoints the Chair of the committee.

I am pleased to announce that we have completed this initial step, and the membership of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Boston University College of Communication (COM) is listed at the end of this memo. I thank the COM Faculty and the University's Faculty Council for their efforts to elect members to serve on this critical committee. I would also like to thank, in advance, the members of the Search Advisory Committee for their service and give special acknowledgement to Professor Paul Schneider, who will serve as Chair.

The charge to the Search Advisory Committee and the process by which it should conduct its work is outlined in my memo of June 6. I will soon convene the Committee to provide them with further specifics of their charge, with the expectation that they will immediately begin the work of consulting with faculty and relevant stakeholders, soliciting nominations, recruiting outstanding candidates, and evaluating the qualifications and strengths of nominees and applicants. I will ask the Search Advisory Committee to forward the names of 3-5 qualified candidates to me by **April 1, 2019,** for final selection of the Dean by President Brown and approval by the Board of Trustees.

The selection of a new dean is among the most important decisions we make. I look forward to working with the Search Advisory Committee to identify and recruit an outstanding faculty leader to serve as the next Dean of the College of Communication.

Cc: Robert A. Brown
Cataldo Leone
Provost's Cabinet

Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the College of Communication

Chair:

Paul Schneider, Professor of the Practice and Chair of Film & Television, College of Communication (elected by the College of Communication)

Members:

- **Jennifer Beard**, Clinical Associate Professor of Global Health, School of Public Health (elected by the Faculty Council)
- **Tobe Berkovitz**, Associate Professor of Advertising, College of Communication (elected by the College of Communication)
- **Margrit Betke**, Professor of Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences (elected by the Faculty Council)
- **Anne Donohue**, Associate Professor of Journalism, College of Communication (elected by the College of Communication)
- Natalie McKnight, Dean, College of General Studies (selected by the University Provost)
- Martin Nisenholtz, Professor of Digital Communication, College of Communication (selected by the University Provost)
- **Rafael Ortega**, Professor of Anesthesiology and Associate Dean for Diversity & Multicultural Affairs, School of Medicine (selected by the University Provost)