Boston University Office of the Provost

Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

TO: Boston University Faculty

FROM: Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

DATE: April 2, 2018

SUBJECT: 2018 University Lecture – Nominations Deadline April 9, 2018

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2018 University Lecturer.

Nomination forms are due by April 9, 2018 and should be submitted via e-mail to the Office at the Provost at provost@bu.edu.

The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics, yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.

The selection process for the Lecture is designed to seek the input of a broad cross-section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination of candidates who reflect BU's commitment to diversity and inclusion.

Information about the Lectureship, a list of past lecturers, and a downloadable 2018 nomination form can be found on the following website: http://www.bu.edu/provost/awards-publications/award-opportunities/lecture/.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research efforts of Boston University's talented faculty.

2018 University Lecture Committee

Chair:

Bonnie Costello, William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor; and Professor of English, College of Arts & Sciences

Members:

George Annas, William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor; and Director, Center for Health Law, Ethics & Human Rights, School of Public Health

Deborah Carr, Professor of Sociology, College of Arts & Sciences

Rafael Ortega, Professor of Anesthesiology; and Associate Dean, Diversity & Multicultural Affairs, School of Medicine

N. Venkat Venkatraman, David J. McGrath Jr. Professor in Management; and Professor of Information Systems, Questrom School of Business

Joyce Wong, Director, ARROWS @ BU; and Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Materials Science & Engineering, College of Engineering