United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year: Past Awardees

2014 United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year

Thomas Gilmore

College of Arts and Sciences, Biology

This year’s nominating process yielded a truly exceptional class of candidates, each with remarkable talent and ability to inspire the best from students. After considerable discussion and deliberation, we are delighted to announce that the winner of this year’s United Methodist Scholar/Teacher of the Year award is Professor Thomas Gilmore, of the Department of Biology. Professor Gilmore was Director of BU’s Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) from 2007 to 2014 and is Adjunct Professor of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics in the School of Medicine. For nearly three decades, Professor Gilmore’s foundational research in the treatment of cancer and autoimmune diseases has perhaps been equaled only by the esteem, standard of work, and lifelong passion for scientific inquiry he has inspired among those he’s taught and mentored at BU. Professor Gilmore’s international renown as a researcher, his transformative leadership of UROP, and his celebration by both colleagues and students as a tireless advocate for their success make him an outstanding selection this year.

2013 Bennett Goldberg, CAS, Physics
2012 Alice Cronin-Golomb, CAS, Psychology
2011 Wendy Mariner, SPH, Health Law, Bioethics, and Human Rights
2010 Azer Bestavros, CAS, Computer Science
2009 Ward Farnsworth, LAW
2008 Bruce Schulman, CAS, History
2007 Adam Sweeting, CGS, Humanities
2006 Charles Rzepka, CAS, English
2005 Bonnie Costello, CAS, English
2004 David Hempton, STH
2003 Maryann Amodeo, SSW, Clinical Practice
2002 Elizabeth Simmons, CAS, Physics
2001 Herbert W. Mason, CAS/UNI
2000 Roye Wates, CAS, Music
1999 Natalie McKnight, CGS, Humanities
1998 Benjamin Kaminer, MED
1997 Robert Devaney, CAS, Mathematics
1996 Roselmina Indrisano, SED
1995 Thomas Kohn, SMG
1994 Paula Fredricksen, CAS/STH
1993 Roscoe Giles, ENG
1992 Marilyn Root, COM
1991 J. Paul Sampley, STH
1990 Kevin Ryan, SED
1989 Kathleen White, CLA, Political Science
1988 William Keylor, CLA, History
1987 Gloria Callard, CLA, Biology
1986 Barry Granoff, CLA, Mathematics
1985 Roger Manvell, UNI/COM
1984 Howard C. Kee, GRS, STH
1983 Lynn Margulis, CLA, Biology
1982 James Teele, CLA, Sociology