United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award

The University Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award, established by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of The United Methodist Church, is conferred at colleges and universities historically affiliated with The United Methodist Church. The award recognizes outstanding scholars for their dedication and contributions to the learning arts and to the institution.

The United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year winner is selected by the Provost’s Faculty Teaching Awards Committee, which consists of the Chair, a committee member from the previous year, the current United Methodist Scholar/Teacher of the Year, and the current Metcalf Prize and Award winners. The committee also includes two students: one Harold C. Case Scholarship winner and one Dean Elsbeth Melville Scholarship winner.

2015 Nomination Deadline:  Friday, October 3, 2014

Students, alumni, staff and members of the faculty at Boston University are invited to recommend candidates for the 2015 United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award. Nomination letters (about one page) should briefly detail how the candidate meets the criteria for the award.  Please send letters of nomination to the Associate Provost for Undergraduate Affairs at apundergrad@bu.edu.

Criteria used to select winners of the United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award:

  1. The nominee’s record of ongoing, outstanding research, scholarship or creative activity.
  2. The nominee’s excellence as a teacher. Excellence in teaching requires mastery of the subject matter, successful strategies for challenging students and engaging them in ambitious learning; and thorough, thoughtful evaluation of student work.
  3. The nominee’s “dedication and contributions to the learning arts,” which may be evidenced by: range of courses taught; new curriculum and course development; pedagogical development or innovation; service on university, school/college or departmental curriculum committees; proposals for funding and funded grants for curricular or pedagogical development; pedagogy/teaching research; mentoring graduate students or new faculty members in course and pedagogical development.

Nominations of women and ethnic minorities are especially welcomed.

To be eligible, a faculty member must:

  • Have held a full-time, continuing appointment on the teaching faculty for not less than six semesters;
  • Not be currently under review for promotion or tenure;
  • Not be on sabbatical leave or leave of absence during the Spring semester of the current academic year;
  • Not be a previous winner of the United Methodist Church Scholar/Teacher of the Year Award.

Lecturers are eligible.