2020 University Lecture – Call for Nominations

From Dr. Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

The University Lecture Committee asks for your assistance in identifying nominees for the 2020 University Lecturer.

The University Lecture was established in 1950 to honor members of the Boston University faculty engaged in outstanding research. University Lecturers represent a vast array of disciplines and research topics, yet share a common commitment to excellence in scholarly inquiry and discovery. Presented each fall, the annual lecture provides an opportunity to highlight the work of a distinguished scholar and engage both the University community and the broader public in the vibrant intellectual life of Boston University.

Information about the Lectureship, a list of past lecturers, and a downloadable 2020 nomination form can be found on the following website: http://www.bu.edu/provost/awards-publications/award-opportunities/lecture/.

The selection process for the Lecture is designed to seek the input of a broad cross-section of the University community – one that we hope will encourage the nomination of candidates who reflect BU’s commitment to diversity and inclusion. The membership of the 2020 University Lecture Committee charged with assisting with the selection is listed below.

Please consider nominating one or more of your colleagues for this honor and also bringing this invitation to the attention of others in the University community. Nomination forms for the University Lecturer should be submitted by March 25, 2020, via email to provost@bu.edu.

Thank you for your assistance in recognizing the outstanding research efforts of Boston University’s talented faculty.

2020 University Lecture Committee

Muhammad Zaman, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor of Biomedical Engineering and International Health, College of Engineering

Martin Amlin, Professor of Music; and Chair of Composition and Theory, College of Fine Arts

Alicia Borinsky, Professor of Spanish, College of Arts & Sciences

Nalin Kulatilaka, Wing Tat Lee Family Professor in Management; and Professor of Finance, Questrom School of Business

Maria O’Brien Hylton, Professor of Law, School of Law

Caryl Rivers, Professor of Journalism, College of Communication

2020 University Lecture – Call for Nominations – 2.21.20