State of the Union 2013

February 8th, 2013

s2_pres_lgIn his second inaugural address, President Obama set forth his agenda for the next four years. Several of those items will likely be discussed in detail during his State of the Union address: guns and gun control; the economy and job creation; climate change and limiting existing power plants’ emissions; immigration reform; and various issues surrounding the federal budget, including sequestration, entitlement reform, and raising the debt ceiling.

    The following Boston University experts are available to offer commentary, analysis, and insight on the President’s address:

    Tom Whalen, associate professor of social sciences and an expert on the American presidency. He is a regular contributor to WBUR’s opinion page, Cognoscenti.  See additional media quotes here. Contact Whalen at 978-888-3131; tjw64@bu.edu.

    Tom Fiedler, Dean of the College of Communication and an expert on American politics and political reporting. He is a regular contributor to WBUR’s opinion page, Cognoscenti.  See additional media quotes here. Contact Fiedler at 617-353-3488; tfiedler@bu.edu.

    Graham Wilson, chair of the political science department and an expert on American politics and comparative politics.  See additional media quotes here. Contact Wilson at 617-353-2540; gkwilson@bu.edu.

    John Carroll, assistant professor of mass communication and a political analyst. He is a regular contributor to WBUR’s opinion page, Cognoscenti. See additional media quotes here. Contact Carroll at 617-353-3493; carroll7@bu.edu.

    Tobe Berkovitz, associate professor of advertising and expert on media strategy and political advertising.  See additional media quotes here. Contact Berkovitz at 617-353-7742; tobetv@bu.edu.

    Cornelius Hurley, Director of the Center for Finance, Law & Policy and an expert on banking law and financial markets regulatory reform. See additional media quotes here. Contact Hurley at 617-353-5427; ckhurley@bu.edu.

    Robert Kaufmann, professor of earth & environment and an expert on global climate change, world oil markets, and land-use changes. See additional media quotes here. Contact Kaufmann at 617-353-3940; kaufmann@bu.edu.

    Susan Akram, professor of law and an expert in immigration and refugee law. Contact Akram at 617-353-3148; smakram@bu.edu.

    Post Your Comment