Graduate Faculty

The Department of Political Science is a the center of a larger community of political scientists at Boston University. We work closely with our fellow political scientists whose primary appointments are in other departments. Our students take courses with them and graduate students ask them to serve on their dissertation committees.

Ivan Arreguin-Toft ^
Email: imat@bu.edu
Specialization: Asymmetric Conflict (Insurgency, Counterinsurgency, Small Wars, Terrorism), International Relations Theory, Strategy, Russian Politics and Foreign Policy, Gender and World Politics.

Cornel Ban +
Email: cban@bu.edu
Specialization: International Economic Organizations, Economic Ideas and Economic Policy, The Political Economy of Crises and Transitions, Varieties of Capitalism, Europe, Brazil.

Jack Beermann +
Email: beermann@bu.edu
Specialization: Civil rights; administrative law; federal courts; government and interest groups; local government law.

Thomas Berger ^
Email: tuberger@bu.edu
Specialization: German and Japanese Politics, International Relations and Comparative Government in East Asia, Political Culture.

Taylor Boas *
E-mail: tboas@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Latin American Politics, methodology, political communication, electoral campaigns, political behavior.

Houchang Chehabi ^
Email: chehabi@bu.edu
Specialization: German and Japanese Politics, International Relations and Comparative Government in East Asia, Political Culture.

Dino Christenson *
E-mail: dinopc@bu.edu
Specialization: American electoral behavior, quantitative methods, survey research, public opinion, political communication, political psychology, interest groups, data science.

Walter D. Connor *
E-mail: wdconnor@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Soviet and Post-Soviet Politics.

Michael Corgan ^
E-mail: mcorgan@bu.edu
Specialization: International Security, U.S. Political Institutions, Icelandic Affairs.

Neta Crawford *
E-mail: crawfor@bu.edu
Specialization: International Relations Theory and Security; US Foreign Policy; Economic Sanctions; Humanitarian Intervention; Ethics; and International Organization; South African Foreign and Military Policy; Political Psychology; Critical Theory; Qualitative Research Methods.

Edward Cunningham ~
E-mail: eac4@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Political Economy (focusing primarily on China), Energy Policy and Governance, Sustainable Development, Chinese Politics.

Katherine Einstein *
E-mail: kleinst@bu.edu
Specialization: American politics, public policy, racial and ethnic politics, urban politics and policy

Joseph Fewsmith *
E-mail: fewsmith@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Chinese Domestic and International Politics.

James Fleming +
E-mail: jfleming@bu.edu
Specialization: Constitutional law; constitutional theory; constitutional interpretation; political philosophy; law and philosophy; theories of democracy; torts; remedies.

David Glick *
E-mail: dmglick@bu.edu
Specialization: American politics, Public law, Political institutions, Policy learning and decision making

Liah Greenfeld *
E-mail: lvg@bu.edu
Specialization: Nationalism, Political Sociology, Political Economy, Cultural Foundations of Modern Politics, Ethnic Conflict, Comparative Modern Politics and Society.

William Grimes ^
E-mail: wgrimes@bu.edu
Specialization: Japanese and East Asian Political Economy, Japanese Politics and International Political Economy.

Douglas Kriner *
E-mail: dkriner@bu.edu
Specialization: American Politics, Separation of Powers, Domestic Politics and the Use of Force.

Timothy P. Longman *
E-mail: longman@bu.edu
Specialization: Religion and politics, human rights, ethnic identity and politics, and gender and politics.

Noora Lori ^
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Formal & Informal Institutions, Comparative Immigration Politics, Middle East Politics, International Security, Citizenship, and Resource Distribution

David B. Lyons +
E-mail: dbl@bu.edu
Specialization:Philosophy of Law, Moral and Political Philosophy.

Cathie Jo Martin *
E-mail: cjmartin@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Political Economy, and Comparative Public Policy.

David Mayers *
E-mail: dmayers@bu.edu
Specialization: International Relations, Diplomatic History, Political Biography.

Jeremy Menchik ^
E-mail: menchik@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Religion and Politics, Southeast Asia, the Middle East, Qualitative and Multi-Method Research.

Manjari Chatterjee Miller ^
E-mail: manjarim@bu.edu
Specialization: Foreign policy and security issues in international relations specializing in South and East Asia.

Augustus Richard Norton ^
Email: arn@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, U.S. Foreign Policy in the Middle East, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Anthropology

David Scott Palmer *
E-mail: dspalmer@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Latin American Studies.

Maxwell Palmer *
E-mail: mbpalmer@bu.edu
Specialization: American political institutions, formal theory, Congress and legislatures, corporate governance, redistricting and election law

Sofia Perez *
E-mail: sperez@bu.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, European Studies, Politics and Business.

Spencer Piston *
E-mail: spiston@bu.edu
Specialization: Public policy, race, public opinion, political behavior, politics of inequality

Christine Rossell *
E-mail: crossell@bu.edu
Specialization: Public Policy, Public Policy Analysis; American Politics, School Desegregation and Bilingual Education Policy, Education Policy, Urban Politics and Policy, Methodology.

Virginia Sapiro *
E-mail: vsapiro@bu.edu
Specialization: Political Psychology, Political Behavior and Public Opinion, Gender Politics, Feminist and Democratic Theory, Higher Education.

Kaija Schilde ^
E-mail: kschilde@bu.edu
Specialization: European Union; European Foreign and Security Policy; Comparative Politics; Defense Acquisition and Technology; Bureaucracy and Interest Groups; Computational Modeling and Simulation.

James Schmidt *
E-mail: jschmidt@bu.edu
Specialization: Political Philosophy.

Vivien A. Schmidt ^
E-mail: vschmidt@bu.edu
Specialization: European Political Economy, European Integration, European Politics, France.

Henrik Selin ^
E-mail: selin@bu.edu
Specialization: International Environmental Politics, Sustainable Development, Global Governance and International Institutions, Scandinavia, and Europe.

Anne Short ~
E-mail: agshort@bu.edu
Specialization: Environmental governance, institutional analysis, human-environment relations, sustainability science

Judith Swanson *
E-mail: jswanson@bu.edu
Specialization: Political Philosophy.

Graham Wilson *
E-mail: gkwilson@bu.edu
Specialization: American Politics, Comparative Politics, Business and Government, Interest Groups.

Michael Woldemariam ^
E-mail: mwoldema@princeton.edu
Specialization: Comparative Politics, International Relations, African Politics, Political Violence, Post-Conflict Governance

Min Ye ^
E-mail: ye@bu.edu
Specialization: China Politics, Comparative Political Economy, and Asian International Relations.

* Denotes member of the Political Science Department

^ Denotes member of the International Relations Department

~ Denotes member of the Geography and Environment Department

+ Denotes member of the Law School