Faculty

Taylor Boas
Office: PLS 311B
E-mail: tboas@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.4214
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Latin American Politics, methodology, political communication, electoral campaigns, political behavior

Rosella Cappella
Office: PLS 303
E-mail: cappella@bu.edu
Specialization: International Security; International Political Economy; Political Economy of National Security; War Finance; Organizational Theory; Bureaucratic Capacity; Qualitative Research Methods

Dino Christenson
Office: PLS 208
E-mail: dinopc@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.6279
Specialization: American electoral behavior, quantitative methods, survey research, public opinion, political communication, political psychology, interest groups, data science

Walter D. Connor
Office: PLS 211-212
E-mail: wdconnor@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.7003
Specialization: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Soviet and Post-Soviet Politics

Neta Crawford
Office: PLS 313C
E-mail: crawfor@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.4040
Specialization: International Relations Theory and Security; US Foreign Policy; Economic Sanctions; Humanitarian Intervention; Ethics; and International Organization; South African Foreign and Military Policy; Political Psychology; Critical Theory; Qualitative Research Methods.

Katherine Levine Einstein
Office: PLS 222-223
E-mail: kleinst@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.6315
Specialization: American politics, public policy, racial and ethnic politics, urban politics and policy

Joseph Fewsmith
Office: IR 401
E-mail: fewsmith@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.6344
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Chinese Domestic and International Politics

John Gerring
Office: PLS 300
E-mail: jgerring@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2756
Specialization: Comparative Politics, American Politics, Methodology

David Glick
Office: PLS 203
E-mail: dmglick@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.4645
Specialization: American politics, Public law, Political institutions, Policy learning and decision making

Liah Greenfeld
Office: UNI 604
E-mail: lvg@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.1772
Specialization: Nationalism, Political Sociology, Political Economy, Cultural Foundations of Modern Politics, Ethnic Conflict, Comparative Modern Politics and Society

William Grimes
Office: IR 110
E-mail: wgrimes@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.9420
Specialization: Japanese and East Asian Political Economy, Japanese Politics and International Political Economy

Katherine Krimmel
Office: PLS 210
E-mail: kkrimmel@bu.edu
Areas of Specialization: American politics, public policy, political parties and special interest groups, public opinion and representation, gender and politics

Douglas Kriner
Office: PLS 206
E-mail: dkriner@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.4643
Specialization: American Politics, Separation of Powers, Domestic Politics and the Use of Force

Timothy P. Longman
Office: PLS 513
E-mail: longman@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.9751
Specialization: Religion and politics, human rights, ethnic identity and politics, and gender and politics

Cathie Jo Martin
Office: PLS 311A
E-mail: cjmartin@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.3798
Specialization: Comparative Politics, Political Economy, and Comparative Public Policy

David Mayers
Office: PLS 201
E-mail: dmayers@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2543
Specialization: International Relations, Diplomatic History, Political Biography

Thomas M. Menino, Professor of the Practice
Office: 75 Bay State Road
E-mail: tmenino@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.8080
Selected Professional Activities: 5-time Mayor and City Councilor of Boston

Maxwell Palmer
Office: PLS 221
E-mail: mbpalmer@bu.edu
Specialization: American political institutions, formal theory, Congress and legislatures, corporate governance, redistricting and election law

Sofia Perez
Office: PLS 301
E-mail: sofiap@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.3876
Specialization: Comparative Politics, European Studies, Politics and Business

Christine Rossell
Office: PLS 202
E-mail: crossell@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2776
Specialization: Public Policy, Public Policy Analysis; American Politics, School Desegregation and Bilingual Education Policy, Education Policy, Urban Politics and Policy, Methodology

Virginia Sapiro
Office: CAS 109
E-mail: vsapiro@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2401
Specialization: Political Psychology, Political Behavior and Public Opinion, Gender Politics, Feminist and Democratic Theory, Higher Education

James Schmidt
Office: STH 612
E-mail: jschmidt@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.4020
Specialization: Political Philosophy

Vivien A. Schmidt
Office: IR 201
E-mail: vschmidt@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.0192
Specialization: European Political Economy, European Integration, European Politics, France

Judith Swanson
Office: PLS 311C
E-mail: jswanson@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2038
Specialization: Political Philosophy

Strom Thacker
Office: IR 446
E-mail: sthacker@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.7160
Specialization: International and Comparative Political Economy, Governance, Development, Latin American Studies, Mexican Political Economy and Politics

Graham Wilson, Department Chair
Office: PLS 215
E-mail: gkwilson@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2540
Specialization: American Politics, Comparative Politics, Business and Government, Interest Groups

*Recent hire, joining department Summer 2014