Faculty

Thomas Berger, Director, Center for the Study of Asia
Office: IR 440
E-mail: tuberger@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.5351
Specialization: German and Japanese Politics; International Relations and Comparative Government in East Asia; Political Culture

Taylor Boas, Director of Graduate Studies
Office: PLS 311B
E-mail: tboas@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.4214
Specialization: Comparative Politics; Latin American Politics; Methodology

Rosella Cappella Zielinski
Office: PLS 303
E-mail: cappella@bu.edu
Specialization: International Security; International Political Economy; Political Economy of National Security; War Finance; Organizational Theory; Bureaucratic Capacity; Qualitative Research Methods

Dino Christenson, Director of Advanced Programs
Office: PLS 208
E-mail: dinopc@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.6279
Specialization: American Electoral Behavior; Quantitative Methods; Survey Research; Public Opinion; Political Communication; Political Psychology; Interest Groups; Data Science

Neta Crawford, Department Chair
Office: PLS 313C
E-mail: crawfor@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.4040
Specialization: International Relations Theory and Security; US Foreign Policy; Economic Sanctions; Humanitarian Intervention; Ethics; and International Organization; South African Foreign and Military Policy; Political Psychology; Critical Theory; Qualitative Research Methods

Katherine Levine Einstein
Office: PLS 222-223
E-mail: kleinst@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.6315
Specialization: American Politics; Public Policy; Racial and Ethnic Politics; Urban Politics and Policy

Joseph Fewsmith
Office: IR 401
E-mail: fewsmith@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.6344
Specialization: Comparative Politics; Chinese Domestic and International Politics

David Glick, Director of Undergraduate Studies
Office: PLS 203
E-mail: dmglick@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.4645
Specialization: Public Law; Judicial Politics; Policy Diffusion

Liah Greenfeld
Office: UNI 604
E-mail: lvg@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.1772
Specialization: Nationalism; Political Sociology; Political Economy; Cultural Foundations of Modern Politics; Ethnic Conflict; Comparative Modern Politics and Society

William Grimes, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Pardee School of Global Studies
Office: IR 110
E-mail: wgrimes@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.9420
Specialization: Japanese and East Asian Political Economy; Japanese Politics and International Political Economy

Timothy P. Longman, Director, CURA
Office: CURA, 10 Lenox Street
E-mail: longman@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.9751
Specialization: African Politics; Religion and Politics; Human Rights; Ethnic Identity and Politics; Gender and Politics

Cathie Jo Martin, Director, Center for the Study of Europe
Office: PLS 311A
E-mail: cjmartin@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.3798
Specialization: Comparative Politics; Political Economy; Comparative Public Policy

Lauren Mattioli
Office: PLS 211-212
E-mail: lamattio@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.7003
Specialization: American Politics; Political Institutions; Public Law; Women & Politics; Judicial Politics; the Presidency

Lida Maxwell
Office: PLS 206
E-mail: lmaxwell@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.4643
Specialization:

David Mayers
Office: PLS 201
E-mail: dmayers@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2543
Specialization: International Relations; Diplomatic History; Political Biography

Sandra McEvoy
Office: 704 Commonwealth Ave, 104
E-mail: smce@bu.edu
Specialization: Gender and Politics; Political Violence and Conflict Resolution; LGBT+ Identities and Global Politics

Maxwell Palmer
Office: PLS 221
E-mail: mbpalmer@bu.edu
Specialization: American Political Institutions; Formal Theory; Congress and Legislatures; Corporate Governance; Redistricting and Election Law

Sofia Perez
Office: PLS 301
E-mail: sperez@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.3876
Specialization: Comparative Politics; European Studies; Politics and Business

Spencer Piston
Office: PLS 300
E-mail: spiston@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2756
Specialization: Public Policy; Race; Public Opinion; Political Behavior; Politics of Inequality

Steven Rosenzweig
Office: PLS 210
E-mail: scrosen@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.6357
Specialization: Political Economy of Development; Electoral Accountability; Political Violence; African Politics; Experimental Methods; Causal Inference

Virginia Sapiro
Office: PLS 313
E-mail: vsapiro@bu.edu
Specialization: Political Psychology; Political Behavior and Public Opinion; Gender Politics; Feminist and Democratic Theory; Higher Education

James Schmidt
Office: STH 612
E-mail: jschmidt@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.4020
Specialization: History of Political Thought

Vivien A. Schmidt
Office: IR 201
E-mail: vschmidt@bu.edu
Phone: 617.358.0192
Specialization: European Political Economy; European Integration; European Politics; France

Judith A. Swanson
Office: PLS 311C
E-mail: jswanson@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2038
Specialization: Political Philosophy

Graham Wilson, Director, Initiative on Cities
Office: PLS 215
E-mail: gkwilson@bu.edu
Phone: 617.353.2545
Specialization: American Politics; Comparative Politics; Business and Government; Interest Groups