Search the Bridge

Mailing List

Contact Us


Research Briefs

Search Research Briefs
| Browse Research Briefs

Science and Technology Day 2004, held on Tuesday, March 23, featured more than 160 presentations by graduate students across all disciplines and schools of the University. Scott Whitaker, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, who presided over a judges panel of more than 30 faculty members, commented on the excellent quality of all this year’s presentations. Abstracts are available online at: The judges panel selected the following outstanding presentations for awards:

President’s Award: Rebecca Saff, School of Medicine, Department of Microbiology; Ann Marshak-Rothstein, advisor: “FAS Expression Limits the Effector Function of Tumor-Specific T Cells.”

Provost’s Award: Erin Leary Swan, Therapeutic Micro and Nano Technology Laboratory, College of Engineering, Department of Biomedical Engineering; Tejal Desai, advisor: “Fabrication and Evaluation of Uniformly Sized Nanoporous Alumina for Human Osteoblast Cell Culture.”

College of Arts and Sciences Dean’s Award: Britt Argow, Department of Earth Sciences; D. M. FitzGerald, advisor: “Winter Processes on a New England Marsh: Implications for Wetlands Survival in a Regime of Rising Sea Level.”

College of Engineering Dean’s Award: Olufemi Dosunmu, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; M. Selim Unlu, advisor: “Resonant Cavity Enhanced Ge Photodetectors for 1550 nm Operation on Reflecting Si Substrates.”

Goldman School of Dental Medicine Dean’s Award: Ying Guo, Department of Periodontology and Oral Biology; Philip Trackman, advisor: “Effects of Lysyl Oxidase Propeptide on Osteoblast Proliferation and Mineralization.”

Sargent College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences Dean’s Award: R. Bridge Hunter, Department of Health Sciences; Susan Kandarian, advisor: “Targeted Disruption of Either the nf-kb1 Gene or the bcl-3 Gene Inhibits Skeletal Muscle Atrophy Due to Inactivity.”

School of Medicine Dean’s Award: Alnnor Pirani, Department of Physiology and Biophysics; William Lehman, advisor: “EM and 3D Reconstruction of Dimeric Aldolase on F-Actin.”

School of Public Health Dean’s Award: Don Davies, Department of Epidemiology; Seth L. Welles, advisor: “Self-Reported Body Image and Unsafe Anal Intercourse Among Men Who Have Sex with Men.”

Center for Subsurface Sensing and Imaging Systems Award: David Bergstein, College of Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Michael Ruane, advisor: “Resonant Cavity Imaging Biosensor.”

Photonics Berman Future of Light Award: Yaopeng Zhou, College of Engineering, Department of Biomedical Engineering; Thomas Bifano, advisor: “High-Resolution Scanning Laser Ophthalmoscope Using MEMS-Based Adaptive Optics.”

Technology Commercialization Institute Award: Oluwaseyi Balogun, College of Engineering, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering; T. W. Murray, advisor: “A Novel Technique for Enhancing the Signal to Noise Ratio of Laser-Based Ultrasonic Systems.”

"Research Briefs" is written by Joan Schwartz in the Office of the Provost. To read more about BU research, visit


15 May 2003
Boston University
Office of University Relations