The Committee for the Fiduciary Standard Announces the Tamar Frankel Fiduciary Award



Source: The Committee for the Fiduciary Standard
The Committee for the Fiduciary Standard
Announces the Tamar Frankel Fiduciary Award
Calls for Nominations for Fiduciary of the Year
Washington DC, March 22, 2011 – The Committee for the Fiduciary Standard today announced The Tamar Frankel Fiduciary of the Year Award, and invites nominations. The award recognizes the individual who has made an outstanding contribution advancing the vital role of the authentic fiduciary standard to investors, the capital markets and society.
“We are honored to name this award for Professor Tamar Frankel, Boston University School of Law, Michaels Faculty Research Scholar. Professor Frankel is well recognized nationally and internationally for her work in fiduciary law. She has demonstrated a tireless commitment to advancing a greater understanding of fiduciary law through her research and writing,” states Knut A. Rostad, Chairman of the Committee for the Fiduciary Standard. 
As America recovers from the massive banking failures, historic market losses, unprecedented financial scams and insider trading scandals, Congress and regulators grapple with the pressing need to revisit the regulation of those who provide financial advice to the public. In January, the Securities and Exchange Commission recommended extending the fiduciary standard of care to apply to all financial advisors who provide investment advice about securities to retail investors.

Many concerned professionals have devoted significant time, resources and their reputation in an effort to insure that all advisors are held to the authentic fiduciary standard and that there is broad access for all investors to advice that is truly in their best interest.  The authentic fiduciary standard embodies, in the view of The Committee for the Fiduciary Standard, five core fiduciary principles that are essential. These principles are: 
* Put the client's best interest first
* Act with prudence; that is, with the skill, care, diligence and good judgment of a professional
* Do not mislead clients; provide conspicuous, full and fair disclosure of all important facts
*Avoid conflicts of interest; and
* Fully disclose and fairly manage, in the client's favor, unavoidable conflicts.
“The Committee believes recognizing an individual who has made an outstanding contribution advancing these five core fiduciary principles are vital to investors is important, particularly now as policy makers grapple with implementing regulatory reform on the heels of the financial crisis” notes Harold Evensky, president of Evensky & Katz and a member of the Steering Group of the Committee.
Nominations for the “Fiduciary of the Year” should be sent to no later than Friday, April 8th ,and should include the nominator's name and contact information, nominee's name and contact information, 50 words on why this person deserves the honor and the nominee's bio (no more than 300 words).

All nominations will be reviewed by the Committee Steering Group and the winner will be announced and the award presented in front of hundreds of industry professionals at the forefront of the fiduciary movement on May 6, at the 2011 fi360 Conference in San Antonio, TX
For further information, please contact Harold Evensky at
# # #