Virginia D. Benjamin ('76) elected to board of directors, American College of Bond Counsel


Virginia D. Benjamin
Virginia D. Benjamin

Source: American College of Bond Counsel


SAN ANTONIO, TX — OCTOBER 28, 2010 — The American College of Bond Counsel is pleased to announce the following Directors have been elected to serve as officers of the College for the coming year:




    President    Robert Dean Pope, Hunton & Williams LLP (Richmond, VA)
    Vice President    Philip C. Genetos, Ice Miller LLP (Indianapolis, IN)
    Treasurer    Clifford M. Gerber, Sidley Austin LLP (San Francisco, CA)
    Secretary    Cynthia M. Weed, K&L Gates LLP (Seattle, WA)

The College also announces John L. McWilliams, III, of Livermore, Freeman & McWilliams, P.A. (Jacksonville Beach, FL) and John K. Van Duys of Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A. (Columbia, SC) have been elected to second terms as Directors; Philip C. Genetos has been elected to serve a third term as Director; and Virginia D. Benjamin of Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP (Cleveland, OH) and Lisa P. Soeder of Soeder & Associates, LLC (Hartford, CT) have joined as new Directors.

In addition, the following lawyers were elected by unanimous vote to become new Fellows of the College:

    Arto C. Becker    Hawkins Delafield & Wood LLP
    Robert M. Collie, Jr.    Andrews Kurth LLP
    Albert A. del Castillo    Squire, Sanders & Dempsey LLP
    Patricia M. Curtner    Chapman and Cutler LLP
    Robert D. Dransfield    Fulbright & Jaworski LLP
    Travis Gibbs    Nixon Peabody LLP
    Janet G. Hoffman    Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
    Donald L. Hunt    Fulbright & Jaworski LLP
    W. Jeffrey Kuhn    Fulbright & Jaworski LLP
    Stanford G. Ladner    Fulbright & Jaworski LLP
    James E. Luebchow    Chapman and Cutler LLP
    Lauren K. Mack    SNR Denton
    Edward A. McCullough    K&L Gates LLP
    Timothy E. Pickrell    Squire, Sanders & Dempsey LLP
    David L. Richardson    McGuireWoods LLP
    Mary Nash Rusher    Hunton & Williams LLP
    Edward S. Sinick    Squire, Sanders & Dempsey LLP
    Earl A. Skarky    Crowe & Dunlevy
    Caryl Greenberg Smith    Hunton & Williams LLP
    E. William Stockmeyer    Drummond Woodsum & MacMahon
    Woodrow W. Vaughan III    King & Spalding LLP
    John J. Wagner    Kutak Rock LLP
    Barron F. Wallace    Vinson & Elkins LLP

The new and continuing Directors were elected at the College’s Annual Meeting on Wednesday, October 27, in San Antonio.  The officers were elected at a meeting of the new Board on October 28.

The following Directors will continue in office for the coming year: Jackson B. Browning, Jr. of Squire Sanders & Dempsey & Dempsey LLP (New York, NY); David A. Caprera of Kutak Rock LLP (Denver, CO); J. Foster Clark of Balch and Bingham LLP (Birmingham, AL); Robert S. Lazarus of Watkins Ludlam Winter & Stennis P.A. (Jackson, MS); Margaret C. Pope of Pope Zeigler, LLC (Columbia, SC), the 2008-10 President; Albert Simons, III of Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP (New York, NY);  and Fredric A. Weber of Fulbright & Jaworski LLP (Houston, TX), the 2006-08 President. 

At the Annual Meeting, Peter Shapiro, Managing Director of Swap Financial Group, delivered the annual Kraft Lecture, entitled “Brave New World: How New Attitudes Toward Risk and the New Federal Regulatory Framework Will Change the Future of Municipal Finance.”  Mr. Shapiro founded Swap Financial Group  in 1997 and is one of the nation’s leading experts on the issue of derivative products by municipal issues.

Also at the Annual Meeting, outgoing President Margaret C. Pope announced that the College’s Directors in the coming months will be considering an increase in the activities of the College, including educational programs at its the Annual Meeting and support for academic research and other programs to improve both the state of public finance law and its practice.  She urged the Fellows of the College to share with the College’s Directors their thoughts on the Board’s plans to expand the College’s activities.

Incoming President Robert Dean Pope urged the Fellows to help the Board in raising the College’s  profile and making  greater contributions promoting excellence in the practice of public finance law.  “The Fellows of the College collectively have vast experience and expertise in bond law,” Pope said.  “We are eager to develop programs that will utilize that experience and expertise in promoting best practices and in encouraging academic and practical analysis of issues important in state and local government finance.”

The College was created in 1995 to recognize lawyers distinguished for their skill, experience and high standards of professional and ethical conduct in the practice of bond law, who will contribute substantially to the accomplishments, achievements and good fellowship of the College and to the best interests of the bar and the general public through the fulfillment of objectives of the College.  The College’s objectives are to promote high standards of professional and ethical responsibility in the practice of bond law, to seek to improve bond law and practice; to make available to the bar and to the public authoritative educational materials in the field of bond law, to speak upon matters of interest and importance to bond law and practice before legislative, administrative and regulatory bodies, and elsewhere; to promote the continuing education of attorneys on issues affecting bond law; to provide forums for attorneys practicing bond law to meet and exchange ideas and professional experience; and to cooperate and consult with national, state and local bar organizations, government agencies, issuer organizations, and other groups which have an interest in bond law and practice, including but not limited to the National Association of Bond Lawyers.
For more information, please visit the ACBC’s website at