Return to search results

Name Perry, Anne
Born / Died 1938–

The Anne Perry collection consists of manuscripts for ten of her books. They are present in various typed drafts, setting copies, and notes. Some titles have only one draft while others have several versions. The titles represented are Paragon Walk (St. Martin’s Press, 1981); Resurrection Row (St. Martin’s, 1982); Bluegate Fields (St. Martin’s, 1985); Death In the Devil’s Acre: A Victorian Murder Mystery (St. Martin’s, 1985); Cardington Crescent (St. Martin’s, 1987); Bethlehem Road (St. Martin’s, 1990); A Dangerous Mourning (Fawcett Columbine, 1991); Highgate Rise (Fawcett Columbine, 1991); Defend and Betray (Fawcett Columbine, 1992); and Scandal In Belgravia .


Anne Perry (1938 - ) is an accomplished author of mystery novels set in Victorian England. She has created two distinct series of books, each featuring an independent heroine teamed with a male. One series features the wealthy Charlotte Pitt who lends assistance to her husband Inspector Thomas Pitt in his investigations. The other teams private detective William Monk with Nurse Hetty Latterly.

Born Juliet Hulme in London, England on October 28, 1938, she was the eldest of two children of physicist and educator Henry Rainsford Hulme and his teacher wife, the former Hilda Marion Reavley. She spent much of her formative years as a sickly child in Liverpool and Greenwich, mainly with her mother and younger brother Jonathon. In 1944, she was sent to live with a family in the Bahamas in the hopes the climate would be beneficial to her health. Her parents were divorced in the 1950s, and after her mother’s remarriage to Walter Perry, she legally changed her name to Anne Perry. In the early 1960s, she worked as a flight attendant and later as an assistant buyer for a department store in Newcastle. By the late 60s, Perry had relocated to Southern California where she converted to the Church of Jesus Christ of the Latter Day Saints and worked for an insurance company. By the early 1970s, she had returned to Great Britain, settling in Scotland and had turned to a literary career.

After having written countless other books, Perry published her first mystery novel, The Cater Street Hangman (St. Martin’s), in 1979. In this book, set in 1880s London, she introduced her heroine Charlotte Ellison, a wealthy woman who crosses class boundaries to fall in love with and marry a policeman, Thomas Pitt. Initially, the couple is introduced when her sister is murdered and he is assigned to investigate the crime. Over time and in more than two dozen books including Callander Square (St. Martin’s, 1980), Belgrave Square (Fawcett Columbine, 1992), Half Moon Street (Ballantine, 2002), and Long Spoon Lane (Ballantine, 2005), the characters have grown and developed into a happily married couple and, according to one critic, “an ideal detective team.”

In 1990, Perry introduced readers to a second couple, William Monk, an amnesiac private detective, and Hester Latterly, an abrasive nurse who worked alongside Florence Nightingale in the Crimea, in The Face of a Stranger (Fawcett Columbine, 1990). Since then, the series, set slightly earlier than her other books, has included The Sins of the Wolf (Fawcett, 1994), in which Latterly is accused of murder, Cain and His Brother (Fawcett, 1995), Death of a Stranger (Ballantine, 2002), and Dark Assassin (Ballantine, 2006).

Perry began a very different historical series in 2003 with No Graves As Yet (Ballantine), set during World War I and concentrating on a family affected by the deaths of their parents in an automobile crash that may not have been an accident. She has subsequently written several sequels including Shoulder the Sky (Ballantine, 2004), Angels in the Gloom (Ballantine, 2005), At Some Disputed Barricade (Ballantine, 2007) and We Shall Not Sleep (Ballantine, 2007).

Additionally, Perry has written a series of Christmas stories (e.g., Christmas Journey, Ballantine, 2003), religious-themed fantasies such as Tathea (Shadow Mountain, 1999) and its sequel Come Armageddon (Ace Hardcover, 2003), and the memoir Letters from the Highlands (Granite Publication and Distribution, 2004).

Anne Perry won the Mystery Writers of America Edgar Award for the 2000 short story “Heroes.”

Library of Congress Subject Headings Women authors, English.
Detective and mystery stories.
English literature Women authors 20th century.

Return to search results