Prof. Simon A. Levin (2008-2009)

Prof. Simon A. Levin is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science as well as a Member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society. He chairs the Governing Council for International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), and co-chairs the Science Board of the Santa Fe Institute. He is a former President of the Ecological Society of America and the Society for Mathematical Biology, and a past Chair of the Board of the Beijer Institute of Ecological Economics. Among other awards, he won the MacArthur Award (1988) and the Distinguished Service Citation (1998) of the Ecological Society of America, and the Okubo Award of the Society for Mathematical Biology and the Japanese Society for Theoretical Biology. He was honored with the Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (2004), the Kyoto Prize in Basic Sciences (2005) by the Inamori Foundation, and the Distinguished Scientist Award of the American Institute of Biological Sciences.

Prof. Simon Levin was the Pardee Visiting Professor of Future Studies in 2008–09 and presented a series of two Pardee Distinguished Lecture. Prof. Levin’s first lecture was on “Cooperation and Collective Behavior from Baceteria to the Global Commons,” presented on October 27, 2008 (see video here). His second lecture was titled “Ecosystems and Socioeconomic Systems as Complex Adaptive Systems,” and was presented on October 28, 2008 (see video here).