Lord Martin Rees (2006–2007)

Lord Martin Rees of Ludlow is Professor of Cosmology and Astrophysics and Master of Trinity College at the University of Cambridge, UK.  He was knighted in 1992, appointed Astronomer Royal in 1995, and became President of the Royal Society in 2005. He is a foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and is an honorary member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Pontifical Academy, and several other foreign academies. His awards include the Gold Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, the Balzan International Prize, the Bruce Medal of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, the Heineman Prize for Astrophysics (AAS/AIP), the Bower Award for Science of the Franklin Institute, the Cosmology Prize of the Peter Gruber Foundation, the Einstein Award of the World Cultural Council, and the Crafoord Prize (Royal Swedish Academy). He has been president of the British Association for the Advancement of Science (1994–95) and the Royal Astronomical Society (1992–94) and a trustee of the British Museum, NESTA, and the Kennedy Memorial Trust.

Lord Rees presented a Pardee Distinguished Lecture on “The Future of Space Exploration.”