Members and Meetings

The Laboratory Safety Committee is comprised of faculty and staff members from various science departments and Environmental Health and Safety (EHS). EHS provides technical expertise on environmental and laboratory safety. Committee representatives are appointed by the AVP-Research Compliance and serve as the departmental Chemical Hygiene Officers for their respective departments.

Committee members are:

Charles River Campus (CRC):

  • Dr. John Caradonna (LSC Chair, Chemistry)
  • John Battaglino (Dean of Students)
  • Josh Brennan (CFA)
  • Dr. Xin Brown (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Dr. James Cherry (Psychology)
  • Paul Ferrari (Chemistry)
  • Dr. Joseph Finkhouse (Global Programs)
  • Dr. Susan Kandarian (Health Sciences)
  • Richard Lally (Engineering Administration)
  • Dr. Bjoern Reinhard (Photonics/Nanobiotechnology)
  • Dr. Kathryn Spilios (Biology)
  • Dr. Alice White (ENG, Material Science)

Boston University Medical Campus (BUMC)

  • Dr. Chris Andry (LSC Co-Chair, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine)
  • Abigail Brown (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, BMC)
  • Elizabeth Duffy (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine)
  • Dr. Shinichiro Kurosawa (Pathology)
  • Dr. Yoshiyuki Mochida (GSDM, Periodontology & Oral Biology)
  • Dr. Laertis Oikonomou (Pulmonary)
  • Dr. Jennifer Schlezinger (SPH, Environmental Health)
  • Dr. Abdul Traish (Biochemistry & Urology)
  • Dr. Andy Zoeller (Physiology & Biophysics)

Members on both campuses:

  • Joe Barbercheck (EHS, Research Safety
  • Alison Gray (Human Resources)
  • Dr. Wei He (Safety Committees)
  • Joe Kajunski (Facilities Management)
  • Michelle Langley (EHS, Campus & Clinical Safety)
  • Witold Tatkowski (EHS, Medical Physics & Radiation Safety)
  • Kevin Tuohey (Office of Research Compliance)
  • Larry Vintinner (Animal Science Center)
  • Dr. Thomas Winters (ROHP)
  • Staff: Sonya Butler (EHS, Research Safety)
  • Staff: Cassandra Williams (Safety Committees)