Committee Membership

The IBC is composed of faculty investigators from both campuses with expertise in recombinant DNA and biohazards research, as well as non-scientist and community members, and a Biosafety Officer.

Dr. Andrew Henderson, Ph.D. IBC Chairperson, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
Dr. Wei He, Ph.D. Technical Committees Manager
Kevin Tuohey Executive Director -  Research Compliance
Joe Barbercheck Biological Safety Officer, Associate Director of Research Safety, Environmental Health & Safety
Ron Morales Director of Research Safety, Environmental Health & Safety
John Barton Executive Director - Office of Facilities
Dr. Thomas Winters, MD Occupational Health Officer, Medical Director – Research Occupational Health Program
Dr. Carol Sulis, MD Associate Professor of Medicine, BUSM, BMC Hospital Epidemiologist
Dr. Nahid Bhadelia, MD, MA Assistant Professor, Section of Infectious Disease Medicine
Dr. James Levin, DVM, DACLAM Director – Lab Animal Serivces – Animal Containment Expert
Dr. Katharine Bossart, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Dept of Microbiology NEIDL
Dr. Natalie Broude, Ph.D. Research Associate Professor, Dept. of  Biomedical Engineering
Dr. Rosina Georgiadis, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Chemistry, Dept. of Chemistry
Dr. Sajal Ghosh, Ph.D. Compliance Coordinator, Research Compliance
Dr. Frank Gibson, Ph.D.  Associate Professor Dept. of Medicine, Infectious Disease
Dr. Eva Helmerhorst, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Periodontology & Oral Biology
Dr. Robin Ingalls, MD IBC Vice Chair, Associate Professor, Infectious Disease
Dr. Kathrin Kirsch, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Dept. of Biochemistry
Dr. Elke Muhlberger, Ph.D. Associate Professor, Dept. of Microbiology
Dr. Barbara Slack, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Dr. Deborah Stearns-Kurosawa, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Valeda Britton Community Relations
John Gonsalves Community Representative
James Keeney Community Representative
Robert Timmerman Community Representative