Boston University Honors Three Professors with 2014 Excellence-In-Teaching Awards

For Release May 2, 2014, noon

Contact:  Richard Taffe, 617/353-4626,

(Boston) — Boston University will bestow its highest teaching award, the 42th Metcalf Cup and Prize for Excellence in Teaching, to College of Engineering mechanical engineering Assistant Professor Stormy Attaway, one of nearly 4,500 faculty members.

At Commencement ceremonies on May 18th, BU also will recognize College of Fine Arts music Associate Professor Terry Everson and College of Arts and Sciences astronomy Professor Alan Marscher as 2014 recipients of Metcalf Award for Excellence in Teaching.

“Excellent teaching is of paramount importance in Boston University, and we affirm this belief by presenting the annual Metcalf honors during our commencement ceremony,” said BU President Robert Brown.  “The winners of the Metcalf awards are exemplary teachers and mentors.”

The Metcalf Cup carries with it a prize of $10,000.  The Metcalf Award winners each receive a prize of $5,000.  Students, faculty and alumni nominate candidates for the awards established in 1973 by a gift from the late Boston University Board of Trustees chairman emeritus Arthur G.B. Metcalf.


Stormy Attaway

“I love to teach, and even more, I love to enable others to learn,” said Attaway, whose work focuses on the fundamentals of engineering computing and integration of new technologies to enhance teaching.  “The new digital initiatives will transform how we learn.  I am pleased to be an early adopter, and I have never been more excited than I am now about the prospects for enhanced learning environments.”

Attaway grew up in Hilton Head, South Carolina, and now lives in Greenville, New Hampshire.  She earned B.S. from the University of South Carolina and both her master’s and doctorate at Boston University.  She joined the Boston University faculty in 1986.


Terry Everson

            “I truly enjoy music,” said Everson, an internationally renowned trumpet soloist, educator, composer/arranger, conductor, and church musician whose teaching concentrates on developing students into skilled brass musicians.  “I’ve discovered the joy in teaching and coaching, listening to my students put their own personal stamps on music I’ve loved for years, getting a fresh vicarious thrill as they make many of the same discoveries I did at their age, and often being awakened to ideas that had never occurred to me before.”

Born and raised in Sandusky, Ohio, Everson now lives in Framingham, Massachusetts.   He received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Ohio State University.  He joined the Boston University faculty in 1999.


Alan Marscher

            “My task … is to inform the students as broadly as possible what science has figured out about the universe, how it has done so, what challenges to our understanding remain, and how our scientific knowledge relates to larger issues faced by humanity,” said Marscher, whose research explores high-energy astrophysics and the nature of extraglactic phenomena like black holes and exploding stars, but who became an academic star teaching his core curriculum and cosmology courses for non-science majors.

Marscher grew up in a suburb of Utica, New York, and now lives in Wayland, Massachusetts.  He earned a bachelor of science degree from Cornell University and both a master’s and doctorate from the University of Virginia.  He joined the Boston University faculty in 1981.


Founded in 1839, Boston University is an internationally recognized institution of higher education and research.  With more than 33,000 students, it is the fourth-largest independent university in the United States.  BU consists of 16 schools and colleges, along with a number of multi-disciplinary centers and institutes integral to the University’s research and teaching mission.  In 2012, BU joined the Association of American Universities (AAU), a consortium of 62 leading research universities in the United States and Canada.

— 30 —

Note to editors:  High-resolution digital photographs of the 2014 Metcalf Cup and Prize winner and the Metcalf Award winners are available — password “Metcalf” — at