F. David Schneider, M.D., Receives Leadership Award

in Health & Medicine, News Releases, School of Medicine
July 24th, 2008

Contact: Allison Rubin, 617-638-8491 | afrubin@bu.edu

(Boston)-July 19, 2008 — F. David Schneider, M.D., of San Antonio, Texas, has been given the prestigious Sam A. Nixon, M.D., Leadership Award by the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. Dr. Schneider received the award during TAFP’s 59th Annual Session and Scientific Assembly in Houston on July 19. The Sam Nixon award is given periodically to a physician who shows extraordinary leadership and service to the Academy.

Next month, Dr. Schneider will leave his post as vice chair and professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio to become the chair of the Department of Family Medicine at St. Louis University in St. Louis, Mo.

“This Academy has really been my family over the past 15 years and without its support of my career, I don’t think I’d be moving to St. Louis to take over the chair’s role in family medicine,” Dr. Schneider said when he received the award. “There are times when people need to step up
and that’s what we all need to do to make family medicine successful. We will provide the medical care this country needs to really help our patients, and that’s why we’re here.”

Dr. Schneider served as president of TAFP in 2003-2004, as chair of the Task Force on Student Interests, and helped form the Texas Statewide Clerkship Coordinator Conference. Within the American Academy of Family Physicians, Dr. Schneider has served as an alternate delegate to the
AAFP Congress of Delegates, as President of the Academy on Violence and Abuse, and as chair of the AAFP Commission on Public Health. He has also served as a member of the American Medical Association’s National Advisory Council on Violence and Abuse.

A fellow of the AAFP, Dr. Schneider has received many awards including the FAFP Student and Resident Leadership Award, the TAFP Research Award and a Recognition Award from the AAFP TAR Wars competition. He was awarded a medical degree from Boston University, completed a family medicine residency at the Duke Family Practice Residency in Fayetteville, North Carolina in 1990, and completed a family practice fellowship at the University of Missouri.

The Sam Nixon Leadership award is given in honor of the late Sam A. Nixon, M.D., a past president of the TAFP, the AAFP and the TAFP Foundation. Dr. Nixon was instrumental in
establishing the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences Medical School and dedicated his life to family medicine. Dr. Nixon was known for his personal achievement, ready assistance, hard work, determined devotion and an inimitable sense of humor.

As Texas’ largest medical specialty organization, TAFP promotes and assures the maintenance of high-quality health care. The association has 33 local chapters and is a chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians. It provides accredited continuing medical education to more than 7,000 physicians statewide. It provides its members with a unified voice for family medicine and continues to be one of the most patient-oriented public health groups in Texas.

Founded in 1839, Boston University is an internationally recognized institution of higher education and research. With more than 30,000 students, it is the fourth largest independent university in the United States. BU consists of 17 colleges and schools along with a number of multi-disciplinary centers and institutes which are central to the school’s research and teaching mission.

Comments are closed.