Three Boston University Professors Named American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

Contact: Kira Jastive, 617-358-1240 |

(Boston) – Professors Howard Eichenbaum and Maureen Raymo of the College of Arts and Sciences (CAS), and Helen Tager-Flusberg of the School of Medicine (MED), have been awarded the distinction of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellows. Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year 471 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, 16 February from 8 to 10 a.m. at the Fellows Forum during the 2008 AAAS Annual Meeting in Boston.

This year’s AAAS Fellows are announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of today’s issue of the journal Science.

Chairman of BU’s Department of Psychology, Dr. Eichenbaum was elected as an AAAS Fellow for outstanding contributions to our understanding of the role of the hippocampus in learning and memory.

A professor in the Department of Earth Sciences, Dr. Raymo was elected as an AAAS Fellow for advances in our understanding of the marine carbonate record, the global carbon cycle, and climate change.

A professor in the Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology at MED, Dr. Tager-Flusberg was elected as an AAAS fellow for path-breaking work on the nature of autism.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the Steering Groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS Chief Executive Officer.

Each Steering Group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.

The Council is the policymaking body of the Association, chaired by the AAAS President, and consisting of the members of the Board of Directors, the Retiring Section Chairs, delegates from each electorate and each regional division, and two delegates from the National Association of Academies of Science.

Founded in 1839, Boston University is an internationally recognized institution of higher education and research. With more than 30,000 students, it is the fourth largest independent university in the United States. BU consists of 17 colleges and schools along with a number of multi-disciplinary centers and institutes which are central to the school’s research and teaching mission.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science ( AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy; international programs; science education; and more.