Boston University Medical Center Appoints New Chair, Chief of Neurosurgery

in Health & Medicine, News Releases, School of Medicine, University Affairs
May 10th, 2006

Contact: Kristen Perfetuo, 617-638-8491 |

(Boston) – Lawrence S. Chin, MD, FACS, has been appointed to the positions of Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurosurgery at Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM) and Chief of Neurosurgery at Boston Medical Center (BMC).

Prior to these appointments, Chin served as a professor in the Departments of Neurosurgery and Radiation Oncology at the University of Maryland School of Medicine. While at the University of Maryland, Chin was the medical director of the Gamma Knife Center and director of the Maryland Brain Tumor Center.

“Dr. Chin is an excellent clinician,” said Elaine Ullian, BMC president and CEO. “Our patients will benefit from his experience.”

Chin received his B.S. and his medical degree from the University of Michigan. He completed his internship in General Surgery at Los Angeles County General Hospital and his residency in Neurological Surgery at Los Angeles County General Hospital, University of Southern California University Hospital, Huntington Memorial Hospital and Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles.

“Dr. Chin is an outstanding academician who has been a leader in research and education,” said BUSM Dean Karen Antman, MD, provost of the Boston University Medical Campus. “We look forward to working with him.”

Chin’s research focuses on novel treatments of benign and malignant brain tumors with a focus on radiosurgery. He has also studied growth factor biology in brain tumors.

Chin is Chair of the Young Neurosurgeons Committee, a member of the Board of Directors and a member of the Scientific Program Committee for the American Association of Neurological Surgeons. He is a medical advisor for the International Radiosurgery Support Association and serves on the Board of Directors for the American Neurological Surgery.

Chin is the recipient of multiple awards including the Edgar A. Kahn Award, the American Association of Neurological Surgeon’s Young Clinician Investigator Award and the Shock Trauma Hero Award.

Comments are closed.