Dedham Doctor and Professor Inducted Into Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Contact: Kristen Perfetuo, 617-638-8491 |

(Boston) – Dedham resident Kenneth Grundfast, MD, chair of the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Boston Medical Center (BMC) and professor of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Boston University School of Medicine (BUSM) was recently inducted into the Boston University (BU) chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society.

The Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society is an internationally recognized organization that aims for the promotion of scholarship and research in medical schools, the encouragement of a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and graduates, and the recognition of high attainment in medical science, patient care and related fields.

Each year, the BU chapter elects for membership in AOA one faculty member physician who has demonstrated leadership in the medical profession.

Grundfast, who joined BMC in 1999, previously had been interim chairman of Otolaryngology at Georgetown University Medical Center. From 1980 until 1994, he served as chairman of the Department of Otolaryngology at the Children’s National Medical Center in Washington DC.

Grundfast, who received his medical degree from the State University of New York, interned and performed a fellowship in community health at Tufts New England Medical Center. After completing his residency in otolaryngology at BMC and affiliated hospitals in 1977,

Grundfast went on to complete a fellowship in pediatric otolaryngology at Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh.
Grundfast is a member of the Triological Society, past president of the New England Otolaryngological Society, and currently serves as secretary-treasurer of the Association of Academic Departments of Otolaryngology. He is also the recipient of the 1998 award for Excellence in Education, the award for Teaching Excellence and Dedication to Education from Georgetown University Medical Center and the 2000 Sylvan Stool Award from the Society for Ear, Nose and Throat Advances in Children.