Publishing Giant, Community Leader, Real Estate Pioneer Are among BU Alumni Honored This Weekend

Contact: Ann Deveney, 617/353-2240 |

(Boston) — Prominent educators, business and community leaders, and entrepreneurs are among this year’s recipients of Boston University’s prestigious annual alumni awards. Hugo Shong, senior vice president of International Data Group (IDG) and president of IDG Asia, community leader and Wheelock College President Jackie Jenkins-Scott, and Richard DeWolfe, former chairman and CEO and now managing partner of DeWolfe and Company, a real estate management and investment firm, are among eight Boston University alumni who will receive distinguished service awards at the annual alumni breakfast Saturday morning.

Also receiving awards will be Morton H. Friedman, philanthropist and founder of the woman’s clothing chain Hit or Miss; Sarkis J. Kechejian, who began his four-decade medical career as a Boston University School of Medicine student and is now president and treasurer of Alliance Health; Leon E. Wilson, founder of First Community Bank and currently executive vice president and managing director of Fleet’s Charitable Asset Division; and Edward J. Zander, a pioneer of dot-com marketing while at Sun Microsystems and presently chairman and chief executive officer of Motorola. Brendan Gilbane, who passed away in 2001 and was BU’s longest-serving dean, will be honored with a posthumous award.

The Alumni Awards program begins with breakfast at 9 a.m., and the ceremony, which is open to the media, begins at 9:30 a.m.

EVENT: Boston University Alumni Awards Program

DATE: Saturday, October 16, 2004

TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PLACE: George Sherman Union, Metcalf Hall, 775 Commonwealth Ave, Boston