BU Provost to Become President of WPI

Contact: Kevin Carleton, 617/353-2240 | carleton@bu.edu
Contact: Colin Riley, 617-353-2240 | criley@bu.edu

(Boston, Mass.) — Dr. Dennis D. Berkey, provost of Boston University and a member of the faculty for 30 years, has announced that he has accepted the presidency of Worcester Polytechnic Institute and will assume the post there on July 1.

“I have spent much of my career at Boston University, where I have had the opportunity to work alongside many wonderful colleagues,” Berkey said. “Over the past three decades, we have endeavored to make the University a stronger and better place, and we have enjoyed great success. I am grateful for the experiences I have had here, and I am looking forward now to applying the benefit of those experiences at another outstanding institution as its president.”

Boston University President ad interim Aram Chobanian said in a message to faculty and staff that Berkey’s “significant contributions, academically and organizationally, will impact our University long after he has taken up residence in Central Massachusetts. I would like to thank him personally for helping to make Boston University a stronger, more diverse and internationally recognized institution of higher education.” Dr. Chobanian said he made the announcement “with great pride and sadness.”

As provost, Berkey served as the University’s chief academic officer, responsible for the 14 Schools and Colleges on the Charles River Campus along with numerous other programs, research centers, and institutes. He launched the University’s Department of Computer Science in the early 1980s. He recruited many outstanding faculty to Boston University, promoted excellence in teaching, established the undergraduate research program, and directed and expanded other new academic initiatives and disciplines.

Berkey came to BU in 1974 as an assistant professor of mathematics in the College of Arts and Sciences. He has served as department chairman and as dean of the College and of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences. He has served as provost twice, from 1987 to 1991 and from 1996 to the present. In 1978 he was awarded the Metcalf Cup and Prize, the University’s highest award for teaching excellence.