Boston University Toasts Recipients of Case, Melville, and Trustee Scholarhips at Ceremony

Contact: Mark Toth, |

(Boston, Mass.) — Boston University recently honored students who have received the Harold C. Case, Dean Elsbeth Melville, and Trustee Scholarships for the 2000-2001 school year at a ceremony held on Friday, April 27.

“The awards given out today recognize academic excellence as well as service to the University and the greater community,” said Boston University President Jon Westling at the ceremony. “These awards recognize the achievements of the students honored today, but also speak of the promise we see for their remaining years here and for their careers in the wide world.” Harold C. Case Scholarship

Established to honor the late Harold C. Case, who served as the fifth president of Boston University from 1951 to 1967, the scholarships are awarded in recognition of academic accomplishment and potential, extracurricular activities, and service to the University.

Full-time juniors who have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and who have been recommended by faculty members are eligible candidates for this award.

The 10 recipients of this year’s Harold C. Case Scholarship are: Samuel Achord, College of Arts and Sciences Robyn Berger, University Professors Program Raymond Gabriel, College of Engineering Bethany Gumper, College of Arts and Sciences Emily Hall, University Professors Program Melissa Mazolli, School for the Arts Justin Quesnel, College of Engineering Annely Richardson, College of Engineering Anne Whiting, Sargent College of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences Rebecca Zook, University Professors Program Dean Elsbeth Melville Scholarship

Established to honor Dean Melville’s years of service to the University as Dean of Women, the scholarships are awarded each year to two female juniors who demonstrate scholastic excellence, high moral character and personal integrity, devoted service to the University community, and potential for success in their chosen fields.

Full-time juniors who have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and who have been recommended by faculty members are eligible for this award.

This year’s Dean Elsbeth Melville Scholarship recipients are: Katherine Lochbrunner, College of Arts and Sciences Jina Moore, University Professors Program Trustee Scholarship

The Trustee Scholarship Program began in 1975 to offer merit-based, full-tuition scholarships to some of the best high school seniors in the country and throughout the world. In 1996, the program was expanded to include students who distinguish themselves in their first three terms of study at the University. The Trustee Scholarship covers full tuition costs for the junior year, and is renewable for the senior year if the student maintains a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

The 2000-2001 Trustee Scholars selected through the sophomore competition are: Leonid Iagansen, School for the Arts Eliza Kamenetsky, College of Arts and Sciences Cheng Ting Lin, College of Arts and Sciences Rahmat Muhammad, College of Arts and Sciences Alina Potts, University Professors Program Liam Revell, College of Arts and Sciences

Boston University is the fourth largest private university in the United States, with an enrollment of nearly 29,000 students in its 16 schools and colleges. The University offers an exceptional grounding in the liberal arts, a broad range of programs in the arts, sciences, law, medicine, engineering, and other professional areas, and state-of-the-art facilities for teaching and research.