Boston University Dedicates New Boathouse

Contact: Sarah Godbout, 617-358-1240 |

(Boston, Mass.) — Boston University will publicly dedicate its new boathouse this Saturday, October 23. The dedication will be held at 4 in the afternoon of the first day of the Head of the Charles Regatta, the largest two-day rowing event in the world.

Named the DeWolfe Boathouse to mark the generosity of BU alumnus and Trustee Richard B. DeWolfe, it sits at the junction of the Charles River’s two longest open-water stretches. DeWolfe, chairman and CEO of DeWolfe New England Real Estate, contributed the gift in honor of his grandparents, Alice and Burpee L. DeWolfe. “Whatever measures of success I may enjoy can be attributed to two sources, my grandparents, and Boston University,” he said.

The new boathouse, costing more than $5 million, contains 20,000 square feet, 36 percent more than the original 1913 boathouse design of architect G. Henry Desmond. The DeWolfe Boathouse offers a world-class rowing center, increased training space, a mezzanine and balcony overlooking the Charles River, and a 75 percent larger dock area. The enhanced design also includes a social space overlooking the river where alumni and friends can watch races, a trophy display area to showcase the successes of teams and individuals, and a fir and birch paneled area for coaches’ offices and crew meetings. This new facility will also be available for community rowing events.

“This new facility means so much to BU crew and the rowing community in Boston,” said Rodney Pratt, head coach of the men’s crew team at Boston University. “We are now better equipped to carry on Boston University’s proud rowing tradition.”

Boston University is the third-largest independent university in the United States, with an enrollment of nearly 30,000 students in its 15 school and colleges. The University offers an exceptional grounding in the liberal arts, a broad range of programs in the arts, sciences, engineering, and professionals areas, and state-of-the-art facilities for teaching and research. It also offers 23 NCAA Division I varsity sports, 12 for woman and 11 for men, and is a member of America East, Hockey East, and the Eastern College Athletic Conference.