Local Residents Named Boston Scholars at Boston University’s 27th Annual Ceremony

Contact: Mark Toth, | mtoth@bu.edu

BOSTON — Forty-six Boston area high school graduates have been awarded full-tuition, four-year scholarships to Boston University as part of the University’s Boston High School Scholarship Program.

This year’s 46 scholarships, announced at the recent 27th annual ceremony, represent a commitment of more than $4.3 million by Boston University to Boston students over the next four years.

The students are: Allston/Brighton — Barbara Bramer, Veasna Hem, Oleg Gusyatin, Raymond Leung, Raymond Moy, Laura Wong, and Veronika Zubkova; Dorchester — Maureen Coughlan, Marie Derosena, Tina Hall, Joanna Janczurewicz, Phuong Le, Eric McAlduff, Thuy-Hien Nguyen, Chien Pham, Thai Le Phan, Daniela Poles, Monique Rodrigues, Kendra Sluaghter, and Thuan Vien; West Roxbury — Christopher Boccuzzi, Nicholas Halloran, Erin Iannaccone, Kevin Mitchell, Michael Perakis, Michelle Polin, Beth Scagnoli, and Julia Tutko; Hyde Park/Mattapan — Shannon Boyce, Michelle Creedon, Michelle Cummins, and Emmanuel Auguste; East Boston — Ruth Duarte, Christina Durbano, and Kerry Hensley; Boston — Chang Foo, Dan Mo, and Pouya Shahbodaghi; South Boston — Shannon Carthas, Lijana Gavelyte, Barbara Regan, and Kimberly Roche; Jamaica Plain — Kathryn Greene; Roxbury — Rafael Hernandez; and Roslindale — Tarik Borogovac and Peter Georgakakis.

The Boston Scholars Program was established by Boston University Chancellor John Silber in 1973 for students who have shown excellent academic potential. Since the program began, the University has awarded more than $72 million in scholarships to 1,300 graduating seniors from Boston high schools.

Boston University is the third-largest independent university in the United States, with an enrollment of nearly 30,000 students in its 15 school and colleges. The University offers an exceptional grounding in the liberal arts, a broad range of programs in the arts, sciences, engineering, and professional areas, and state-of-the-art facilities for teaching and research.